But if it’s true You use broken things then here I am Lord, I am all Yours.

The devil is packing punches and for a few days I laid on the floor in the corner with my feet curled up, hiding. But that looks like I’m hiding in fear. When we fear something it has a hold of us. It consumes us. We not only start to believe the lies, we start buying the lies. We go out and seek the lies. We put it first, above all else. Now, hang on, wait a second. The only thing I have to fear is You, Lord. You alone have authority over me. Satan doesn’t have me. I do not worship him. Sin doesn’t own me. Death can’t even hold me. You defeated all those things that I have been letting reign over me. You already won the war.

Today, I had enough. I put my hair in a messy bun, opened up my Bible, and started seeking the capital T, Truth. This place holder fell out from a previous Bible study with 2 Corinthians 5:17 written on it, which says: Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away, and look, new things have come. It was this small cut up piece of paper that I saved and it fell into my lap just when I needed to reminded that You have control. You’re timing Lord. Ohhhhh, how You love us. You, my God, are in the detail business. Nothing is without You. Nothing is by accident. Every single little detail was created and designed by You with intention for Your purpose.

My whole problem is that I keep picking up what I already put down. Lord, I gave this hot mess to You and I keep running back to the sin and my old way of stinkin thinkin. My daddy used to tell us that without You, we are like pigs in the pig pen. We don’t realize we’re living in mud and filth. It’s all we know and we don’t know any better. Ohhhhh, but Lord, You made us new. We can leave behind all that mud and muck. We don’t have to clean ourselves up to come to You. We don’t have to worry about things like: I’ll come to God when I stop doing this thing or I’ll come back to God when I get this thing done. We don’t have to clean all the mud off to come to You, but You love us too much to leave us there. You are leading us out of the pig pen and out of our mess.

There is a quote on my cup that matches my Bible cover, which says: “she believed in His plan, even when she couldn’t see His path.” 

So, that is my prayer today. I pray I follow you and you alone. I pray that I believe in your plan. I pray that I use the word as a lamp to my feet. Lord, I’m praying for forgiveness. I’m praying for my unbelief, my doubt, my fear, my selfishness, my angry and confused heart. I pray that I stop giving power to fear. I pray that I fear you and you, alone. I pray that I put you back in a place of authority over me. I pray that I remember you are first and I am second. You come before all else. I pray that I put that verse way down deep into my soul. I pray that I remember you have a spot at the table for me even though I do not even deserve to be in your presence. Father, I belong to you and you alone. I pray that this prodigal heart comes home daily. I pray that I bind my wandering rebel heart to you. I pray that I believe in your plan and follow your path. I pray that I leave the pig pen and leave my filth behind. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

3 thoughts on “But if it’s true You use broken things then here I am Lord, I am all Yours.

Leave a Reply

