When someoneโ€™s running out of places they can run.

I saw this picture posted that said: sometimes I just wanna run away and see who notices. When I was younger, I believed those lies. Every disagreement with a friend or with my family or I got passed over for something at school. Once you let one lie in, they come rushing in. It’s like stepping into a batter’s box with a pitching machine constantly throwing balls at you, but having no bat. When my best friend and I played softball, we sat in the outfield and played with the wildflowers and yelled across the field to each other. There was not much actual softball playing with us, we were just there to have fun and take pictures. For real though, I just wanted to run and land somewhere safe and wanted. That soft place I needed to land was grace.

I think one of the best parts of growing up and growing in my faith and in my relationship with You, Lord, is realizing that running away doesn’t solve problems, it adds to them. For one, there are so many people around that would notice. As I’ve gotten older, I see with a much wider lens. I no longer have a vision that can’t see past my own nose. I can see the world around me the more I walk with You. I can see You in the world around me.

I now step into that batter’s box with confidence, dig my feet in the dirt, line my shoulders up, and bring my bat. The best way to fight lies is with the truth. That bat I’m bringing is Your word. It’s the ultimate, life giving and life sustaining, truth. Psalm 119:73 says: Your hands made me and formed me; give me understanding to learn your commands.

So, that is my prayer today. Lord, keep showing me how to swing for the fences. I pray that I listen to your commands. I pray that I remember you are my safe place. Lord, you are my safety and security. Lord, you are my strong tower. You are my lighthouse. I pray that I come to alter more. I pray that I come to you more. I pray that I lean on you more. I pray that keep looking for you in the world around me. I pray that I humble myself at your feet. I pray that I fall to my knees at the cross. I pray that I remember Sarah Mae’s words in Having a Martha Home the Mary Way: “strive for excellence, but land in the softness of grace.” Lord, I don’t know what your plan is. I don’t know where you are leading me. I don’t know where this path leads, but Lord, I’m going. I pray that I put one foot in front of the other and keep walking with you. I pray that I listen for your directions. I pray that you give me understanding to follow your directions. I pray that I remember that love wins. Lord, you already won the war. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that havenโ€™t met you yet. In Jesusโ€™ name, Amen.

 

