There’s an answer to an unprayed prayer.

Yesterday, I needed something and I couldn’t quite figure out the words. Yesterday, I couldn’t hit the broad side of a barn, much less hit the nail on the head. I went to get ready to leave and right there in the shower is a bottle of Philosophy soap. Amazing Grace. That is the name of the soap and exactly what I needed. The bottle says: “Life is a classroom. We are both student and teacher, each day is a test, and each day we receive a passing or failing grade in one particular subject: grace. Grace is compassion, gratitude, surrender, faith, happiness, good manners, reverence and the list goes on. Being the smartest, the prettiest, the most talented, the richest or even the poorest can’t help. Being a humble person can, and being a helpful person can guide you through your days with grace and gratitude.” Lord have mercy. I needed grace.

Life ain’t fair. Sometimes we get overlooked. Sometimes bad things happen. Sometimes we get the short end of the stick. Sometimes no one hears our voices. Sometimes we get passed over. Sometimes we’re practically invisible. Other times every single thing we do is criticized and scrutinized. Sometimes everything feels like it’s falling apart. We hit rock bottom, more than once in our lives. Sometimes everything we want gets handed to someone else.

Still, thank You. Lord, we do not understand Your plan. We ask why these things happen. We beg on our hands and knees for that answer. Still, thank You. For plans I don’t understand. For sending what I needed instead of what I wanted. For saving me for something different. For revealing Your light when the darkness seems to overtake me. For forgiving me when I surely didn’t deserve it.

In a sermon, a while back, titled: God is a faithful God, the preacher said: “God’s not fair. I’ll take His mercy. I’ll take His goodness. If He was fair, we couldn’t survive. We don’t know better than God. God is still in charge. We don’t belong to ourselves, we belong to Him.” Later in the sermon he said: “He cares more about us than we care about ourselves.” If life were fair, I would get exactly what I deserve. There would be no salvation, no cross, no Savior. If life were fair, Your Son would not have been sent. He would’ve never been on that cross. I would have been. I have made more mistakes than I care to count. I would get life without parole. There would be no second chances and no saving grace. There would be no growth and learning and experience.

Still, thank You. Lord, life ain’t fair. I have far more than I deserve. I have a roof over my head and more than I need under that roof. I have a purpose and people who love me. I have family to keep me sane and make me crazy at the same time. I have friends to share my life with. I have ways to give back to the community I love. I have a church to attend and serve at. Taylor Swift said: “No matter what happens in life, be good to people. Being good to people is a wonderful legacy to leave behind.” I am beyond blessed with people who are good to me and I need to start looking for ways to be better to them.

So, here is my prayer. I shouldn’t get to have such a blessed life, like the one I do. I don’t know what it is you see in me. It’s a real good thing that life ain’t fair. Thank you for believing in me. Thank you for thinking I was worth saving. Thank you for the cross. Thank you sending your son. Thank you for grace. Lord, I can be sooo selfish. Help me to show grace to those around me. Help me to offer help to those around me instead of causing more of a burden. I pray that I lift weight on other’s shoulders, instead of piling on. Lord, I pray that I share your grace. Lord help me to show compassion, gratitude, surrender, faith, happiness, good manners, and reverence. Thank you for being faithful. Thank you for mercy. Thank you for goodness. Thank you for always being in control, for always being in charge. I don’t thank you for that nearly enough. Lord, I don’t know better than you. Thank you for that too. Thank you for allowing me to belong to you. Thank you for naming me of your chosen. Thank you for naming me your child. Thank you for calling me yours. Thank you for allowing me to serve you. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One thought on “There’s an answer to an unprayed prayer.

  1. Can’t even begin to explain how much I love this! Reminds me of a line from a Relient K song: “The beauty of grace is it makes life not fair.” I think the song is entitled Be My Escape. In seasons of discouragement or when life seems unfair, and we’re tempted to cave in to horrid self-pity, I find that to be true: He is our escape. His goodness. His mercy. His faithfulness. His strength. Thanks for reminding me of that.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

