Name me one of Your chosen.

I was watching an episode of Chrisley Knows Best the other day and Chrisley’s daughter said: “Daddy, you’re supposed to be gone.” To which he responds with: “Well I ain’t never gonna be gone till the Lord takes me.” I near about dropped to the floor laughing. I’ve heard my own Dad say similar a time or two…thousand. I am so thankful for a Daddy that never leaves. Now in what I like to call the dark ages, ya know those years when my eye liner was so think I looked like a raccoon, I wasn’t so appreciative of that. But that father’s love also taught me a thing or two about Your love, Lord. Just like he won’t leave, You won’t either.

No matter how many times I mess up or run from You, You have open arms for me. You’ll never leave me. On Supergirl, the superhero’s mom left her a message saying: “You will lose your way many times. What’s important is that you find your way back to the brave girl you always were. Be wise. Be strong.” First, thank you for always allowing me to come back to You and who I was meant to be. Second, that word wise. That one right there. That word. Thanks to Beth Moore and her Living Proof conference, that word means something. That word has worth in my mind. That word. Ohhh that word. Wisdom. Goodness gracious, I have needed that word this year. Now, the third thing, I only have because of the first and second thing. My strength comes You, Lord. My strength comes from Your teaching, Your guidance, Your wisdom.

So, here is my prayer today. Thank you for a Father’s love. Thank you for a Mother’s love. Thank you for your love. Thank you for your timing and that I’m never too late. Thank you for having a place for me. Thank you for having a little grace for me. Thank you for washing me in the water ’til I’m whiter than snow. Thank you for mercy for the wanderin’ soul. Thank you for meeting me with your arms wide open. Thank you for leading me down to the river. Thank you for your strength and wisdom. Thank you not giving up on me. Thank you for not leaving me. Thank you for saving me. Thank you for showing me the light back to you. Thank you for leaving a trail of bread crumbs for me to follow. Thank you for naming me one of your chosen. Thank you for writing my name in the book. Thank you for the cross. Thank you for taking me back every time I leave. Thank you for teaching me how to stay. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

2 thoughts on “Name me one of Your chosen.

Leave a Reply

