This goes to you, wherever you are.

It is Sunday morning. So that means I’m doing a lot of running around. I’m helping my sister finish the lesson. I’m getting the grabber activity ready, snacks poured, snacks cleaned up, craft and/or game set up, cleaning up again, etc. I’m not trying to toot my own horn because good golly miss molly, I could be doing a wholeeeeeee lot more. Today, I’m thinking back to my childhood and thinking about all those people who played a hand in raising me. The people that vacuumed up glitter and cleaned up food messes. The people who counted to make sure I was on the bus for the 6th time. And especially the people that forgot to count me that one time and I got left at the butterfly museum for a few hours. The people who put stickers on charts when I learned a verse. The people who sang youth group songs for us 56345 times. The people who decorated churches and camps for three days and couldn’t sleep the night before in anticipation. The people who came over to talk to me when I was too shy to function. The people who sent me a card in the mail when I missed even one Sunday morning. The people who prayed for me and with me. The people who organized volunteers and put sign up sheets together and gathered supplies. The people who read stories of the Bible to us and answered our 3048 questions. The people who led AWANA groups and choir rehearsals and directed plays. The people who designed tshirts and tried to make events cool for us. The people who led First Priority and See You At The Pole Rallies. The people who taught Mother’s Day Out and preschool and day care. The manyyyy people involved with summer camps, concerts, conferences, lock-ins, and so much more. And the people that created that scavenger hunt for us, we still talk about how much fun that was to this day.

All that work those people put into my life created stepping stones, building blocks, and a foundation. Those people put little nuggets of wisdom in my pretty little head back when I was wearing way too much eye liner and was struggling to understand the world. I am so thankful for all that my parents did for me and taught me, but they aren’t the only voices in my head. There are so many verses and songs and Bible stories that fill my every thought because of those people and I am so thankful for that. When I’m stuck between a rock and hard place, I have an intangible compass guiding me because of little seeds that people planted when I was growing up. They say it takes a village to raise a child and I couldn’t have had a better village.

So, this is my prayer today. Thank you for the people in my life that are worth far more than gold. Thank you Lord, for surrounding me with more love than I could even understand. Thank you for the teachings, lessons, and values that were instilled into me. Thank you for sending a village. Thank you for sending planters. Thank you for sending builders. Thank you for sending architects and construction workers. Thank you for landscapers and painters. Thank you for all of the people that helped me make this world my home and taught me to build homes for others. Thank you for people that gave to me and taught me to give to others. Thank you for sending people to share your love with me. Thank you for creating a safe environment for me to grow up in. Thank you for calling the unqualified. Thank you for allowing me to work with these kids. Thank you for allowing me to better appreciate all that you’ve given me. Thank you for busy schedules and no sleep. Thank you for letting me vacuum glitter and clean up spilled gold fish. Thank you for letting me share my favorite worship songs with them and learn which ones are now their favorites. Thank you for allowing me to play games, decorate crafts, and teach those kids. I pray that everything I do, only points them closer to you. I pray they remember verses and songs and Bible stories too. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

