Just a whisper of Your voice can tame the seas.

Martha was a woman after my own heart. She’s pretty much my spirit animal. Like if there is any woman in the Bible like me, it’s definitely her. I am the one behind the scenes, making sure everything is perfect and running smoothly. The one who planned, cooked, cleaned, set up, etc. I like being that woman.

I have been that woman when I plan anything from parties to events. The woman who prepares the food, but waits until everyone has their plate and anything else they need before even thinking of getting one for myself. I am that woman in everything I do from organizations to job to school. In school, I was the quiet one, taking it all in. Teachers thought that meant I wasn’t participating. But I was, in my own way. In jobs, I want to be the one doing all the background work. I want to be the one that makes the whole team work harder and more efficient. In organizations, I want to plan it all. In college, I made sure I taught those around me too. Because I wasn’t like the others, when I left I didn’t want my absence to be felt. While other girls were concerned with “what are they gonna do without me?” I didn’t. I knew I had left my hand print on every member, every office, every inch of that house. Whether the girls ever give me credit or not, or whether they ever miss me or not, I know I left an impact on that house. I got a note from a Leadership Consultant one time that said I had no idea the influence I had with those women. And I didn’t at the time, but that note changed my perspective and made me appreciate the Martha in me.

Being a Martha woman is all fine and dandy, in fact it’s better than that, until I am in Your presence. When I lay things down at Your feet, I have tendency to pick them back up. When I spend time with You, I need to be like Mary. I need to sit at Your feet and listen, just listen. Stop letting my brain run 100 miles per hour. Stop over thinking. Stop analyzing and preparing. Just listen.

“I tried to fit you in the walls inside my mind
I try to keep you safely inbetween the lines
I try to put you in the box that I’ve designed
I try to pull you down so we are eye to eye

When did I forget that you’ve always been the king of the world?
I try to take life back right out of the hands of the king of the world”

When I spend time with You I need to remember while I have been stuck and been off being a Martha, You have still been God. In the Stuck Study, Jennie Allen wrote: “Our stuck places are the very places that make us ache for God. Even in our God-given limitations. He is gracious and tender. I need Him, and so I got to Him. He is there…God is there. God, who spins the planets, is there waiting for me.”

So, that is my prayer today. Thank you for putting me in my place. I pray that I put my life back in your hands. I pray that I let you lead my life. I pray that you keep holding me. Thank you for never letting go. I pray that I stop controlling. I pray that I let you do your job and I pray that I do mine. I pray that I worship you more. I pray that I quiet my mind when I spend time with you. I pray that I let you speak through my actions, thoughts, heart, and motives. I pray that I let you speak though my life. I pray that I give it all to you. I pray that I learn to let go and let You work. I pray that I trust you. I pray that I remember you are king of the world. I pray that you are first in my life. I pray that I stop putting limits on your grace. I pray that I start giving you the glory. Thank you for your grace and tenderness. Thank you for spinning the planets. Thank you for keeping me spinning too. I pray that I remember those planets spin around the Sun. I pray that I remember to spin around the Father and the Son. Thank you for being there. Thank you for waiting for me to come to you. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

2 thoughts on “Just a whisper of Your voice can tame the seas.

Leave a Reply

