Break the silence with Your whisper.

The other day I was on Pinterest, obviously planning my future wedding and dream house, because why not? I read this one pin that said: “Dear God, If today I lose my hope please remind me that Your plans are better than my dream.” I need to do more of that. I tend to end my day with prayer, instead of beginning it. I take my problems to You, Lord, after the fact. I need be proactive and have a take-charge attitude for my life. I need to pray longggg before I lose my hope.

Lately, I’ve wondering what my next step is. I’ve been trying to figure out what You want me to learn. I was looking through old notes and stumbled across this one question: “What do You require of me? More, be with Me more.”

Alright Lord, You’re laying it on my heart. You want more of me. You want me to spend time in Your word. You want me to love. You want me to pray. You want me to give. You want more of me. You want all of me, the deepest parts of me.

And for the days when I think I have nothing left to give, I can remember Lou Holtz: “Ability is what you’re capable of doing. Motivation determines what you do. Attitude determines how well you do it.” I struggle with differentiating between the three. I get overwhelmed with figuring out my ability and forget the rest. When I forget the rest, I’m missing the most important parts. I heard my whole life that attitude was either pushed you forward or held you back. I saw this quote from Carlos Castaneda that said: “We either make ourselves miserable or we make ourselves strong. The amount of work is the same.”

So, this is my prayer today. I pray that if today I lose my hope please remind me that your plans are better than my dream. I pray that if today I lose control please remind me that you are God and I am not. I pray that if today I lose my ability please remind me that you never left me to do it on my own. I pray that if today I lose my motivation please remind me that you already won the war. I pray that if today I lose my attitude please remind me that I cannot control others, but I can control my reaction and my thoughts. I pray that if today I lose everything from this world please remind me that this is not my home. I pray that if today I lose my worth please remind me that I am chosen by you. I pray that if today I lose my joy please remind me that my joy comes from you and cannot be taken. I pray that if today I lose my will to fight please remind me that you are my savior. I pray that if today I lose my purpose please remind me that you require more of me. I pray that if today I lose myself please remind me that the deeper I go with you, the more I will find something greater than myself. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

