If You can hold the stars in place, You can hold my heart the same.

I am going through my phone and I see this screenshot from Easter from the Sidewalk Prophets: “This is the moment when all will be made new. I know that you don’t understand but this is part of a greater plan so I lay down my life for you.” Ok. That put my selfishness into place. I don’t understand Your plan and I question it wayyyyy too much because Your plan is so much greater than I can even imagine. When You asked Your son to die on the cross for my sins, he didn’t question You. He didn’t wonder why. He was an obedient son. He literally got up there and did it. He prayed about it and then he just did it. You were asking the impossible and he did with no complaints and no hesitation and no regret.

My favorite quote is Thomas Edison’s: “If we did all the things we are capable of, we would literally astound ourselves.” I always used that to motivate myself into doing more, but Lord maybe I should have been thinking of You. Because Lord, You astound me. You are capable of far more than I can even fathom. You literally created the Heavens and the Earth without help from the peanut gallery so, why do I insist on knowing Your plan and questioning Your plan?

“You spoke a word, life began
Told oceans where to start and where to end
You set in motion time and space
But still you come and you’re calling me by name”

So, this is my prayer. So here I am, lifting up my heart to the one who holds the stars. Thank you for calling me by name. Thank you for loving me. Thank you for calming the raging sea inside of me. Thank you for calming the storm inside of me. Thank you for reminding me of who you are. Thank you for your plan. Thank you for sending your son to save me. Thank you for everything. Thank you for my life. Thank you for creating this world. Thank you for today. Thank you for creating me. Thank you for all you’ve given me. I pray that I actively listen to you more. I pray I follow your plan. I pray that I learn to calm down and accept that you plan is greater than my own. I pray that I trust you. I pray that I put my faith in you. I pray that I lean on you. I pray that you lead me. I pray that I give you my heart. I pray that I give you my everything. I pray that I give you all that I am. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

