I can’t outrun this heart I’m tethered to.

My sister and I went to see Alice Through the Looking Glass, which was fantastic, btdubbs. I knew it was going to be, but I had no idea how profound and emotional it was going to be. It was deepppp. It started with Alice and her mother not understanding each other and both missing their father/husband: Mr. Kingsleigh.

Time had a bad rep when the movie started. Time was called a thief and a villain. Then Alice met Time and realized Time was a person. My favorite line from Time was when he was pulling down someone’s clock because their time was up and said: “I hope you used your time well.” Like ok now, taking this to a whole new level. Talk about thought provoking. I was on the edge of seat now! Time told Alice that the past could not be changed, that you could only learn from it. He also said: “You cannot win in a race against Time.” Of course, Alice didn’t listen, like all of us, and had to learn the hard way. She began to see things from a different point of view and started seeing Time differently like: “I suppose every second counts.” Then she started saying things to defend Time like: “Time is many things, but he is not money. Nor is he our enemy.” By the end of the movie she said: “I used to think time was a thief. Time is a gift. Every minute. Every second.” 

On the way home, I was sitting there thinking how perspective changes everything. That one little thought, thought differently could change your entire outlook. Then this song comes on the radio:

“You surround me
You chase me down
You seek me out
How can I be lost
When You have called me found”

I need to sing that a few more times. You surround me. You chase me down. You seek me out. How can I be lost when You have called me found. How can I be lost when You have called me found. How can I be lost when You have called me found. I could sing that a hundred and fifty two thousand times. That struck me right to the core. That line is a perspective changer.

So, that is my prayer today. Lord, how can I be lost when you have called me found. I need you. I am humbled at your feet, Father, I need you. I am nothing without you. Thank you for surrounding me. Thank you for finding me. Thank you for seeking me when I should be seeking you. Thank you for never letting go. Thank you for never giving up on me. Thank you for perspective changers and life lessons. Thank you for your love. Thank you for loving me with a fierce love. Thank you for loving me with an unfailing love. Thank you for loving me like a tidal wave, like a hurricane. Thank you for not holding back. Thank you for letting me come face to face with you at every turn. Thank you for reminders that I am not alone. Thank you for being there even when I try to run away. Thank you for allowing me to learn from the past. Thank you for the reminder that time is not a thief or a villian, but a gift. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One thought on “I can’t outrun this heart I’m tethered to.

  1. OMG… You have no idea how much I love this song. I listen to it A loot. I was actually going to see ATTLG yesterday but I decided to go with Me Before You, but I am definitely watching ATTLG next week and your post is making me really excited for it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

