And soon enough you’ll find the door.

I went home during my break and watched last night’s episode of Grey’s Anatomy.

They were nervous about the surgery they were about to perform. And first off that military man had me ready to cry the moment the episode started so I knew this was gonna be good. So Callie says: “Everything is gonna be fine, you guys. We just have to be squirrels about this.”And Avery, being Avery questioning everything says: “I couldn’t have heard you correctly.” The Alpha Gam in me was like shhhh Avery, this is about to get so good, just listen. Callie is talking about squirrels!! So Callie explains: “Oh you know, squirrels, they store nuts for the winter, right? But they don’t do it all at once. They do it one nut at a time. Everyone has their part to play so everyone just needs to handle their own nut. We do that and get all the nuts.” I was laughing so hard and grinning ear to ear. Shonda knows that squirrels work hard. Like if that explanation didn’t completely explain my four years in Alpha Gamma Delta, I don’t know what will. Those women in Alpha Gam work hard.

When they are done scrubbing in, Bailey stops and says: “We’re praying. Torez is right, we’ll be fine if we each just do our part. I figured it don’t hurt to ask God to do his.” If this were American Idol, this would be were Jennifer Lopez would tell everyone she got goosies. I mean, I got goose bumps on top of my goose bumps. Like I was one of those old ladies in church with her hand in the air, screaming Amen as loud as they could. What got me most was Dr. Jackson Avery was standing there with his eyes closed, practically praying with her. That man has been through a lot and he tries to fight God and faith at every turn and somehow he still winds up in the same place, faced right with You, Lord. Grey’s Anatomy might be just a TV show, but they are beautifully illustrating how You knock on someone’s heart. Sometimes You knock by taking the whole door down, but sometimes it’s more gentle and subtle and it happens slowly over time. Sometimes no matter how many times we ignore that door bell, You keep waiting and hoping patiently that we will open the door and welcome You into our hearts.

So, that is prayer, I’m praying Bailey’s prayer. I know I can’t do this on my own. I’m asking you to your job. I pray that I give up my control and let you work in me and in those around me. And I’m praying that I do my job. I pray that I work hard. I pray that you keep knocking on doors. I pray they listen. I pray that they see the door and they see you. I pray they stop running from you and see that you’ve been right there all along. I pray they open the door. I pray that I continue to be a squirrel and continue to do my job and continue to let you do yours. I am not in control. I am just doing my job. Lord, I surrender all. Thank you for showing up and doing your job. Thank you for knocking on my heart. Thank you for never leaving me. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

