He’s up to something.

Ok, so with graduation coming up, I have been sending out my resume with like a whole bunch of optimism and hope attached to that cover letter. Like my dreams are riding on those pieces of paper. The rejection letters that are following are weighing on a girl’s heart. Ok, most of them say they need someone immediately and to reapply in a few months. That’s fine I can accept that, except I don’t wanna wait. I’m excited and ready to go. There is a couple that say I need more experience, that’s fine because I knew I did when I applied for those but I figured it was worth a shot. You never know what might happen and what doors could open. I wanted to be open to all possibilities. Then there is the one this week that says they appreciate my creativity but decided to go in a different direction. That one hurt a little more than I would like to admit.

Elizabeth Edwards said: “She stood in the storm, and when the wind did not blow her way, she adjusted her sails.” So, here I am adjusting my sails, adjusting my outlook, adjusting my attitude, and turning all my attention to You, Lord.

I figured I needed a “pick me up.” I pulled out some old notes and got ready to start praying. Inside of my notes I found three fortune cookie quotes that I liked over the years and had saved. They kinda hit the nail on the head for the kind of reminder I need.

  1. “You are a skilled organizer and aware of group dynamics.”
  2. “You have a deep understanding of other people’s needs and feelings.”
  3. “You are far more influential than you think.”

Alrightttttt, let’s put that on my resume and I’ve got the experiences to back that up. Now while I don’t put much stock in believing in fortune cookies, I do think that God gives us little signs and reminders if we’re paying attention.

I’m reading chapter 5 of For the Love by Jen Hatmaker. The chapter is called: “Run Your Race.” In the chapter she says to invest in your gifts and stop downsizing what you’ve been given. She wrote: “You are good at something for a reason. God designed you this way, on purpose. It isn’t fake or a fluke or small. These are the mind and heart and hands and voice you’ve been given, so use them.” Then she says: “The timing is never right. Forget that.” Boy, did I need to hear this. This chapter could not have been timed anymore perfect. But it is perfect, because it’s Your timing. It’s Your details. It’s Your grand design. Every moment of my life has been orchestrated by Your hands and it is a beautiful thing. She ends the chapter with: “But off you go because we were not created to stand still, even though that is safe and familiar and you are guaranteed never to fall or stumble or grow weary. We were made to run. RUN. I’m grinning at you. We all are.” My heart tingled when I read that. Ok, I’m putting my running shoes on now. (Btdubbs, I need to thank Mama again for the new ones for Christmas.)

I also found my notes from Xtreme Winter. In my chicken scratch, written in a hurry, trying to soak in every word, it says: “Don’t miss an opportunity to pray. We have enough Jesus to get by but he doesn’t have enough of us. Step out and quit letting Satan control your life.” Then at the bottom of my notes is written: “I believe I was destined to be here.” Which reminded me of a saying: “You are where God wants you to be at this very moment. Every experience is part of his divine plan.”

So, that is my prayer. I pray that I let today serve as a reminder that you are not finished with me yet. I pray that I remember you have a plan for me. Lord, you have been preparing me and leading me to this point. You do not do things without intention and purpose. Thank you for guiding me. I pray that I continue to follow you. I pray that I set my sights on you. I pray that I adjust my sails. I pray that I give you everything I have and all that I am. I pray that I give you the control. I pray that I keep seeing your hand in the details of my life. I pray that I run my race. I pray that I remember to thank my friends and family for cheering me on and supporting me during my race. I pray that I don’t minimize my gifts. I pray that I put them on display for all to see the work you have done in me. I pray that I keep showing off how glorious you are. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

