For a world that is lost, grace wins.

To be honest, this whole #ImAChristian and #IWouldSayYes movement kinda rubbed me the wrong way at first. I thought it was kinda disrespectful to those that said yes. Not because I disagree, because I am a Christian. I wholeheartedly believe in You, Lord. But it’s really easy to say that sitting behind a computer screen while I’ve got the freedom to pray however I want. It’s an entirely different thing saying that when a gun is pointed. I mean, Peter was Your disciple. He followed You. He prayed with You. He literally saw You and he still denied You, Lord. He not only denied You, he did it three times. He had all the proof in the world to believe in You. He literally saw You perform miracles, but he still said no. You give second chances and I believe that’s exactly what we’ve been given. Just because you said no, yesterday, doesn’t mean you can’t say yes today.

I want to live for You. I want to say yes. But, I didn’t always say yes. I ran from You. I’ve been lost. I’ve done all I could think of to push You away. But You were right there, holding me. You never let me go. You fought for me even when I was fighting against You. You always won. And it’s not over. I can’t even imagine what all of those people went through that day. I do know that no matter what, You will win.

Romans 14:11 says: For the Scriptures say, “‘As surely as I live,’ says the LORD, every knee will bend to me, and every tongue will confess and give praise to God.'”

Isaiah 40:8 says: The grass withers, the flower fades, But the word of our God stands forever.

Maybe I didn’t understand the movement. Maybe I had it all wrong. Maybe it’s not that we would say yes, but we could. Maybe it’s the bravery of those that said yes that will serve as a reminder that we can say yes. They are a reminder that grace wins every time. Not even death can separate us from You. I’ve read a lot of people praying for those that were brave enough to stand up for You. Armardo Hall said: “The bravest person in America? The 2nd to admit to being a Christian after the UCC shooter murdered the 1st.” I am in awe of their courage and bravery and conviction. I want to pray for them too. I want to pray for their families. But for the ones that said no, I want to pray for them too.

So, that is my prayer today. I pray for the ones that said no. I pray for the injured ones that got to keep their life. I pray for their healing. I pray for their families and friends and loved ones. I pray that they see the second chance at life they’ve been given. I pray they find you. I pray they seek you. I pray they reach out for you. I pray they are surrounded by your love. Thank you for fighting for me. Thank you for fighting for them. Thank you for the reminder that we can have the courage to say yes. Thank you for the bravery and courage of those that said yes. I pray for healing for their families. Thank you for holding them all that day. Thank you for not leaving them. Thank you for the fact that grace wins. I pray that I have the strength to say yes. I pray that I live a resounding yes. I pray that my life screams yes from every decision, every word, every movement, every fiber of my being. Thank you for the reminder of courage to say yes with my life. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

