Hallelujah, I am Your’s and You are mine.

My last class of the day is one of my marketing classes. The class is on Business2Business sales. To be perfectly frank, I hate sales. I do not like selling. All I can think of is like those retail credit card people or like the typical car salesman, the pushy types! I wanted to better understand sales, which is exactly why I chose this class as one of my marketing electives.

Today, in class, we were discussing features and attributes. The professor asked “how do you translate those features and attributes into benefits?” In all seriousness, in my mind, I went with what I knew: Alpha Gam. I started making a mental checklist of features and attributes:

  1. Dues
  2. Intramurals
  3. Community Service
  4. Panhellenic Love
  5. Study Hours
  6. Recruitment
  7. Offices
  8. Campus Involvement
  9. Programs
  10. Living in the House

Maybe it’s because I’m an alum now or maybe it’s because I held so many offices and got so involved, but I could totally see in terms of benefits:

  1. Responsiblity
  2. Life Skills
  3. Outreach
  4. Networking
  5. Higher GPAs/Better College Retention Rates
  6. Engaged Members
  7. Leadership
  8. Well Rounded Student Experience
  9. Growing together as sisters and growing as individual women
  10. Memories I will cherish and friendships I hold extremely dear

On the way home from class, I started thinking about that question in a different way. I started applying it to my relationship with You, Lord. Lysa Terkeurst talks about the “Christian Checklist” all the time and how we’re just trying to mark things off our list. I started thinking about the features and attributes of that list:

  1. Read your Bible and study scripture
  2. Pray
  3. Go to church

The “Christian Checklist” could go on and on. What I think we forget sometimes is the benefits:

  1. Patience
  2. Guidance
  3. Accountability
  4. Peace
  5. Reassurance
  6. Freedom
  7. Forgiveness
  8. Protection
  9. Understanding
  10. Healing
  11. Love
  12. Honestly
  13. Respect
  14. Hope
  15. Truth
  16. Intention
  17. Purpose
  18. Promises
  19. Strength
  20. Endurance
  21. Wisdom
  22. Teaching

The Bible says 365 times “Do Not Fear.” What is the opposite of fear? Faith. What greater benefit than Faith?

So, that is my prayer today. I wanna say thank you for being my everything. Thank you for my faith. Thank you for all the many benefits that you give us and all the ones I didn’t list. Thank you for making me, yours. Lord, I’m lifting my hands up to you. I am in awe of you. Thank you for being my light in the darkness. Thank you for letting me run to you. Thank you for picking me up off the ground, time and time again. I also wanna thank you for my experience in Alpha Gam. I wanna thank you for letting me get to know the beautiful women in that house. Thank you for letting me learn and grow there. Thank you for teaching me to live with purpose. I wanna pray for them as they head into recruitment this week and start the first round of recruitment tonight. I pray that you watch over them and the other Panhellenic women in all the houses and all the women going through recruitment and all the alums helping and all the volunteers. I pray that they enjoy this experience and make the most of this week. I pray that they learn from the features and attributes and see all the benefits. I pray that those benefits translate into skills and relationships they can take with them into the rest of their lives. Thank you for showing me the benefits today and helping me to realize just how blessed I am. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

