I wanna seek You first.

Yet again Lysa Terkeurst’s understood what I was going through. On the radio this morning, I heard her speak about being “the hurried woman.” The kind of woman who is running around and making sure everything is done on her to do list. I related to this more than I care to admit. Then she literally talked about going grocery shopping and how the hurried woman runs in with her list and is so busy with her own life that she doesn’t share You with the sales clerk or anyone in the store. I’m a Martha type of woman. I’m the one cleaning the house and preparing everything and making sure everything is perfect. I like my lists. I like having back up plans and I like being prepared.

Life has things I’m not ready for though, no matter how much I plan. My person got me this book for Christmas called The One Year Book Of Bible Promises. Each day is a verse and discussion of that verse. To be honest, I got behind in my reading. Part of being that “hurried woman” is not taking enough time to spend with You. Today, I went to catch up and started with June 13, the day of my person’s wedding. I thought it was cute that the verse was in Matthew since she was marrying Matthew! So, Matthew 6:33 says: Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need. The discussion then talks about this verse being the principle for overcoming worry. Then towards the end of the discussion it says: “What are you in need of? Food? Clothing? A place to live? A decent job? A drivable car? You can trust God to provide for your needs.” Excuse me? Did that thing just say a drivable car? That’s cute. Ok, God, You have my attention. I have been preparing for this day  and I have an emergency kit packed for just about anything thanks to help from Pinterest. However, I did not plan for my car battery to die last Saturday. Especiallyyy not during my person’s wedding ceremony when I still had to drive to the reception. You wanna talk about worry? I was about five seconds from a panic attack, but I didn’t have one. You had me. You never left me. You surrounded me with Your love. After the reception was over, my phone was as dead as my car battery. Because when something is wrong, what do I do? Call Daddy. That worry started flooding in again. Still You had me. I was ok. Still You never left me.

In Becoming More Than A Good Bible Study Girl, Lysa Terkeurst wrote: “The more we make a habit of applying God’s Word to our lives, the more it becomes a part of our nature, our natural way of acting and reacting. Knowing God’s Word and doing what it says not only saves us from heartbreak and trouble, it also brings more satisfaction to our souls than anything else ever could. Think about that for just a minute. Aren’t security and satisfaction what many people spend their every waking minute pursuing? Yet, the world’s answers are temporary facades that disappoint every time. Not just sometimes, every time.” Then she goes on to say: “I can delight in the fact that the things that make me feel weak only serve to make me a stronger, more capable person.” 

Ok, so, maybe my car battery needing to be replaced wasn’t the end of the world. I probably should have remembered that it had been 4 years since I got a new one and been prepared. The car battery is not really the important part. You are. I am learning to seek You first. I am learning to lean on You. I am learning to trust You. Replacing the car battery is a temporary fix. I will have to replace it again in a few years. Knowing Your word, though, that is an eternal fix. That changes me. That moves me. That becomes a part of me. That shapes me.

So, this is my prayer today. I pray that I seek you first. I pray that I find you more. I pray that I keep you first. I pray that I act more like you. I pray that I react with your love. I pray that I get to know your word more. I pray that I make more time to spend with you and in your word. I pray for the hurried woman inside of me and all of the rest of the hurried women. I pray that we slow down. I pray that we see you more and share you more with others. I pray that I remember Matthew 6:33. I pray that I apply that verse to my life. I pray that I take Lauren Daigle’s song with me. Lord, thank you for reminding me that you are always with me. Thank you for providing for me. Thank you for taking care of me. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

