It’s all I ever needed.

When I’m feeling anxious I should probs just go straight to Lysa Terkeurst’s fb wall or read her books because she always says exactly what I need to hear. She sends me straight to You in prayer. She makes me see things differently.

Here was her words of encouragement today:

“When we have ‘I don’t know why’ situations in life, we have to make the hard choice to settle our mind with what we do know. Otherwise, the ‘I don’t know why’s’ will sweep us away into treacherous currents of doubt and disillusionment.

So, I grab hold of what I do know.

I do know God is a God of protection. God’s love for me is so consuming, He can only have my best interest in mind.

I do know God is a God of provision. God’s plans for me are good even if they don’t align with mine. He will provide but probably not in the way I expect.

I do know God is a God of process. God’s process to develop my character to match my calling might include me having to learn to let go of something I treasure.

So that’s where I park my mind, my emotions, and my trust.

It’s not the tidiest parking spot on the lot. It doesn’t make the loss sting less.

But it’s a place I can wad up my run away emotions and hand them over to my perfectly capable and all-knowing God.”

Well, she hit my issues on the head today. (As she always does.) So, let me break this down.

1. You are a God of protection.

This right here is my fave. Sometimes, (although I’m 23), I feel like a little scared girl that needs You to hold my hand. This right here gives me strength.

2. You are a God of provision.

This is one I struggle with on the daily. I shouldn’t though because You have given me more than I could ever even imagine. You have blessed me more than I ever thought possible. I’m a planner, but You are the creator. Even my best laid plans can’t even compare to the glory in Your plans.

3. You are a God of process.

Ok…So, this is the one I need extra help with today. Why do I struggle so much, knowing 1 and 2? Because I have trouble letting go of my plans. You’re plans are so much greater than mine could ever be, so why do I have such a problem trusting? Because I only see my immediate plans and I don’t see the much bigger plans You have for me. I see in terms of the 5 year plan and 10 year plan. (Maybe the 60 year plan if I’m feeling optimistic. That’s the retirement home plans! The one that has me and my best friends sitting in rocking chairs talking about our husbands and our grand kids.) You see the eternity plan though. You are the beginning and the end. The Alpha and Omega.

Basically Lysa’s saying You’re a dad which is totes why you’re called Abba Father. You’re the Creator. You are my Heavenly Father. You knew me before I was even a thought in my parents’ head. Before my daddy ever got that book and taught himself how to braid my hair, You knew how many hairs I would have on my head. Before my mommy ever picked my name, You knew it. You picked me even though You knew all my flaws. You still wanted me when You knew all my weaknesses. You chose me even though You knew how many times I would fail. You knew it all and still loved me before I was ever even born. Your love is all that I needed.” 

Then she says: “So that’s where I park my mind, my emotions, and my trust.” Ok, You have my full attention. (Especially since I am back to the car metaphors! *insert my loud obnoxious rendition of Jesus Take The Wheel again!*)

So, here is my prayer today. I pray that I park my mind. I pray that I let go of the useless anxiety that I give power to. I pray that I let you guide my life. I pray that I park my emotions. First off, because they take my attention away from you. Second, they add unneeded stress and trouble to my life. I pray that I keep my eyes focused on you. I pray that I continue my walk with you. I pray that I park my trust. I pray that I put my faith in you more. Thank you for being a God of protection, provision, and process. Thank you for being a perfectly capable and all-knowing God. Lord, I pray that you settle my mind. I pray that I let go of the unknown. I pray that I let go of the “I don’t know why’s.” Thank you for always showing me your love. Thank you for loving me still. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One thought on “It’s all I ever needed.

Leave a Reply

