Little girl dreams are bigger than they seem.

I was cleaning out some papers and old notebooks Friday before class and I found a spiral notebook. Inside was a list of things I wanted from my future husband. (I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. I love lists!) I don’t even know when I wrote it. Probably like two or three years ago. Anyways, here is the list:

1. I want him to go to church with me and hold my hand.

2. When I’m sad, I want him to know me so well that he knows I need to sit and cry. I want him to just hold me in his arms and protect me.

3. When I’m sick, I want him to bring me chicken noodle soup. I want him to let me lay my head in his lap and play with my hair while we watch movies.

4. I want him to understand how important Alpha Gamma Delta is to me and not question it when I want to bring snacks to recruitment training to become an advisor, as long as it doesn’t take away from him or our family.

5. I want him to take me on adventures and go places, but also now the importance of sitting around watching movie marathons.

6. I want him to dance with me, but the cute, funny way and not the weird way. (Literally, that is what I wrote.)

7. I want him to love my terrible singing because it makes him laugh. (Bless his heart, he’s gonna have to find humor it because there is no talent in it.)

8. I want him to know when my eyes change colors.

9. I want him to be a man, but treat me like a partner.

10. I want to make family decisions together and have a joint bank account, but I also want each of us to save a little money in separate accounts for emergencies.

11. I want to have a stable flow of income and not live paycheck to paycheck.

12. I want him to have a big heart. I want him to want to foster a bunch of kids with me.

13. I want him to call me Darlin.

14. I want to be able to laugh with him.

15. I don’t want to feel controlled.

16. I want him to take care of me as much as I will take care of him.

17. I want him to pray with me.

18. I want him to reassure me. (Umm. I know I’m fabulous and all, but picking out clothes is like picking out a personality for the day. It takes time. I will change my mind 154 times. He can just take a lesson from my daddy, just tell me I look good in everything.)

19. I want him to keep me protected and feel safe.

20. I want us both to know how lucky we are to have each other and cherish each other.

21. I want him to be a hard worker.

22. I want him to want to teach our kids the stories in the Bible.

23. I want him to take out the trash and clean my hair out of the drain.

24. I want him to be a strong person in his faith and as a leader of the house.

25. I want him to talk with me during movies and answer my questions and shield me from any scary parts.

26. I want him to take Sunday drives with me. (Sunday’s are important. I want family time after church. I want us all to take a long leisurely drive or go down to lake and go fishing or play football in the back yard or running through the sprinkler after we have big family lunch. I don’t want family time reserved for holidays. I want it every Sunday after church.)

So, this is my prayer. I pray that I keep making lists so when he does come, I’ll be ready and know what I want. I pray that I keep my focus on you. I pray that I keep praying. I pray that I keep learning and growing in my relationship with you. I pray that while I am waiting, I am preparing. I pray that I am preparing my heart. I pray that I guarding it safely.  And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One thought on “Little girl dreams are bigger than they seem.

Leave a Reply

