I wanna speak Your love not just another noise.

This week’s assignment was on security and privacy, but with everything linked together nowadays do we even have any privacy? I mean, practically every online account I have is linked to my Facebook. We were asked how this would affect our careers. I think it’s already started. I think employers look at our Facebook activity. I think they look at the social media footprint we leave. I think they have a lot more research on us before the job interview even starts.

One of the articles we were asked to read talked about our digital footprints and how if we are in unfortunate news stories or have messy court cases or have arrest records then those things can easily be found and we are reminded of them much more nowadays. Thankfully, I don’t really have to worry about that. I don’t really have anything except maybe a speeding ticket from three years ago, but let’s not talk about driving school. It wasn’t fun and I learned my lesson. I also learned that yellow speed signs are warning signs and are not regulatory, so that’s fun! The advice the article gave was to Google yourself and to start a LinkedIn account. Check and Check. The next thing it says to do is check your Facebook security settings and watch what your friends tagged you in. I never really changed my setting back from Sorority Recruitment so, my settings are pretty tight and you can’t even find me when you search me still. However, I probably should watch what my friends tag me more closely. The last bit of advice was to get another website to track your digital footprint and delete it. Which honestly, sometimes sounds enticing. Having this entire history on the internet is scary. I mean, no one wants to see the pictures on my MySpace account from when I was like 12. I had way too many duck faces, peace signs, and selfies. Social media can do a lot of good though. It’s helped me be more conscious of my words. It’s helped me be more conscious of those around me. It’s made me want to donate to causes and impact my world. It’s made me aware of a lot more causes and charities. It’s also helped me maintain long distance friendships.

The second article is more about data breaches and how to protect yourself. The advice it gives is: “1. Don’t Reuse Passwords. 2. Set Up Two-Factor Authentication. 3. Use A Password Manager.” I probably should pay attention to this advice because I’m not good at it. My mother is though. She has the most intense secretive crazy passwords I’ve ever heard of. They’re like the letters to phrases and numbers thrown in and it’s just nuts! I will never understand how she comes up with those.

We also watched a Ted Talk and it was pretty scary how easily they could take that Facebook information and face recognition system to find out our social security numbers and like intense stuff! The next Ted Talk was about our last post after we die. It talked about this guy had his friend post this one final blog post after his battle with cancer ended and turned his blog from active to archives. That really got me thinking about what I say or post could be my last at any point in time. The talk talked about this service that lets you create one last Facebook for after you die. I think that caught my attention and how I want to be careful what I post because it could be my last. I want everything I do and say to point back to You.

 

So, here is my prayer today. I pray that I protect my digital footprint. I pray that I watch what I post, what my friends tag me in, and everything I do online. I pray you start a fire in my heart. I pray you fan the flames. I pray that guide me. I pray that I protect the words I say. I pray I protect my twitter feed and pinterest board too. I pray that everything I do points back to you. I pray that I am more aware of it and cautious of it.  And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

