You only need a spark to start a whole blaze.

This week’s topic is virality which means “the tendency of an image, video, or piece of information to be circulated rapidly and widely from one Internet user to another; the quality or fact of being viral.” We watched a video on the ALS ice bucket challenge and how it went viral. The challenge helped raise awareness for ALS and weekly donations went from $14,000 to $168,000. They talked about how exposure was what they needed and using this challenge was exactly how they got it.

Then I read an article which gave the scientific take on viral marketing. The article gave three reasons that things go viral: “1. It was positive, dwelling on positive issues or topics. 2. It evoked a strong emotional reaction (joy, fear, anger). 3. It was practically useful.” I think the ALS challenge was extremely good at all three of these things. The challenge started with one person and then it grew from there. It grabbed the hearts of celebrities, organizations, and everyone in between. Since July 29, 2014, The ALS Association has received $115 million in donations! One of my favorite quotes is from Margaret Mead which says: “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.” 

A few weeks ago at church, they had a revival. What got me thinking a lot is how in order to spark a change, it starts with one person. It just takes one person to change their heart and start a fire. In order for revival to happen, we have to first change us. We have to work on our heart and that will change our actions. All it takes is a spark.

“You only need a spark to start a whole blaze
It only takes a little faith
Let it start right here in this city
So these old walls will never be the same”

So, that is my prayer today. I pray that you start a fire in me. I pray that you change my heart. I pray that you move me. I pray that you use me. I pray that I take Unspoken’s song with me this week. Lord, let your light shine, let your light shine for all to see. I pray you start a fire in my soul. I pray that you fan the flame and make it grow so, there’s no doubt or denying. I pray that you let it burn so brightly that everyone around can see that it’s you that we need. Lord, you are the fire. You are the flame. You are the light on the darkest day. We have the hope we bear Your name. We carry the news that you have come to save. Only you can save. Lord, help me to share that news. I pray that I share your love with everyone I meet. I pray that your love shine through me so, all they can see is you. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One thought on “You only need a spark to start a whole blaze.

  1. It only takes one person to start something huge. Many revolutions were started by the ideas and teachings of one individual. The same rule applies to the internet, as often times someone will post a video, and by the next morning it has a million views.

    Like

Leave a Reply

