You are working in our waiting.

For this week’s assignment, we were asked to recommend a Content Management System or CMS. Based on the article we read outlining the differences, WordPress was the clear winner. They compared installation time and complexity, plugin and theme availability, ease of use, and customization and upgrades. While the other options had their strengths, WordPress is still the leader overall. “WordPress started as just a blogging system, but has evolved to be used as full content management system and so much more through the thousands of plugins and widgets and themes, WordPress is limited only by your imagination.”

Some of the features that WordPress offers are: Simplicity, Flexibility With WordPress, Publish with Ease, Publishing Tools, User Management, Media Management, Full Standards Compliance, Easy Theme System, Extend with Plugins, Built-in Comments, Search Engine Optimized, Multilingual, Easy Installation and Upgrades, and Community. Developer Features include: Plugin System, Theme System, Application Framework, Custom Content Types, and The Latest Libraries.

I chose WordPress because of how extremely user friendly it was. It was easy to use and completely able to be customized to fit my needs and wants. WordPress is what I use personally, so, how could I not recommend it? Plus, who doesn’t love when just one small idea turns into something extraordinary? Reading more about WordPress, I found: “WordPress started in 2003 with a single bit of code to enhance the typography of everyday writing and with fewer users than you can count on your fingers and toes. Since then it has grown to be the largest self-hosted blogging tool in the world, used on millions of sites and seen by tens of millions of people every day.”

Lord, we think we have it all figured out and then You put this simple little idea in our head and completely change our whole plan. I started college as an Education major because I wanted to help people and that was the best way I knew how. Two years into college, You started putting ideas in my head. I mean, I was already taking some of my junior level classes. I was totally committed to my major. Maybe the doubts were there all along and I just wasn’t ready to listen. As much as I love and respect teachers, I was not built to be one. I took Career Planning and found Public Relations. Now, this I was built for. 100%, totally and completely. The more into my classes I get, the more I see that You’ve been building me for this my entire life. Every experience, leadership position, job, skill set was pointing me to Public Relations. It was staring me right in the face and I just didn’t see it yet.

I just had advising for the Fall semester and my advisor, who I absolutely adore by the way, asked me if I was excited for graduation next year. Excited is an understatement. I’m not sure what direction I want to take after graduation or even where I wanna go. Maybe I’ll move to Arlington, Virginia and work for the USO like I wanted ever since I changed my major. Maybe I’ll go back to Birmingham and work for a community service organization. Maybe I’ll move to New York City and work for a PR Firm. Maybe I’ll go to Atlanta and start my own PR Firm. A lady at church told me that churches are hiring Public Relations people now to work for them. Maybe I’ll stay in Mobile and do that!! I mean, that sounds fabulous. To take what I’ve learned and use it to lead people to You!

“When beyond our understanding
You’re teaching us to trust”

At bible study we read Jeremiah 29: 11-14 which says: For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back from captivity. I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”

So, here is my prayer today. Lord, I’m giving you my plans. I’m giving you my life. I’m giving it all to you. Lord, lead me where you want me to go. Guide me in the direction you need. I pray that I let you be the compass. I know that like the song says that you are working for my good and for your glory. I pray that you keep working. I pray that I do my part too. I pray that I keep moving towards you. I pray that I follow the plan you made for me. I pray that I bring glory to your name. I pray that I listen when you tell me what to do and where to go. I pray that I trust you and your plan. I surrender control. Thank you for taking all that has happened and leading me. Lord, just like the song says even what the enemy means for evil, you turn it for our good. Thank you for being faithful forever and perfect in love. Thank you for not forgetting me and never leaving me. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

3 thoughts on “You are working in our waiting.

Leave a Reply

