You rescued me and I am Yours forever.

I’ve been thinking a lot about what kind of relationship I have with You this year and how to strengthen that relationship. We talked in bible study on Sunday about how it has to be an active pursuit towards You. They said that the relationship becomes a foundation, not a set of rules. I saw it the same way as the ladies in my bible study, as a foundation. I practically grew up in church. I was shown that foundation early on. I was taught stories from the bible and how to have a relationship with You. I was very fortunate and blessed to have that relationship fostered as a child. It was a really critical part of my life that completely set up who I am as a person and gave me direction. What I realized in college is that a lot of people do not have that. I came to really understand what being lost meant. I had always heard the term, but never fully understood. I’ve had times in my life where I stumbled and even gone in the wrong direction, but there was a light leading me back to You. Isaiah 53:6 says: All of us like sheep have gone astray, Each of us has turned to his own way; But the LORD has caused the iniquity of us all To fall on Him. To be honest, I had to look up what iniquity meant. Iniquity means: “immoral or grossly unfair behavior.” That sounds hideous. I went in the wrong direction and You still saved me. Not only did You rescue me and take me back with open arms, but You forgave my hideousness. That blows me away.

What I realized is that without You, I would literally be lost. I would have no foundation. No starting point. No ending destination. No core. No motivation. No purpose. No meaning. No guidance. No source of light showing me the way. Psalm 119:105 says: Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. 

Romans 3:22-26 says: Even the righteousness of God which is by faith of Jesus Christ unto all and upon all them that believe: for there is no difference: For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God; Being justified freely by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus: whom God displayed publicly as a propitiation in His blood through faith. This was to demonstrate His righteousness, because in the forbearance of God He passed over the sins previously committed; To declare, I say, at this time his righteousness: that he might be just, and the justifier of him which believeth in Jesus. So, let me break this down, verse by verse. 22: There is no distinction between me and non-believers because of 23 which says we all fall short of Your glory. 24 says You declared and made us righteous in Your sight through the cross where You publicly saved and redeemed us by showing Your grace. In 25, this was to show that You are just and fair by showing fortitude and endurance in washing away our sins. Then in 26, all we have to do to get all of this is to believe in You? So, let me get this straight. No matter who I am or what I’ve done, You are going to take all the ugly, repulsive, unsightly, reprehensible, appalling, objectionable, offensive, obnoxious, and spiteful things I’ve done and You are going to carry the burden and wash them away and all I have to do is believe in You? These verses taught me that I am not better than anyone else because I believe. I am not superior to anyone. I am just forgiven. I simply asked for You to save me and You did. I am not a better person because I’m a Christian, I’m just better than who I am without You. I’m forgiven and changed. I’m set free from who I was and made new. I can chose You now and forever.

So, that is my prayer today. Thank you for the cross. Thank you for saving me. Thank you for redeeming me. Thank you for remaking me. Thank you for renewing me. Thank you for changing me. Thank you for setting me free. Thank you for showing me who you are and who I could be in you. Thank you for showing me a brighter future. Thank you for showing me the light. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One thought on “You rescued me and I am Yours forever.

Leave a Reply

