A brand new life is calling and I owe it all to grace.

A year ago today, I got a phone call that changed everything. Last year, I struggled. There were a lot of good things that happened too. Even on the darkest days, I can still see all You’ve blessed me with. Through my confusion and and heartache, I reached for You. You were right there in the heart of the storm with me. Last year, I decided to start this blog and grow closer to You. I wanted to find healing in You. So, I think it’s very fitting that today I write my 100th prayer.

For the past few weeks at my church they have been doing a revival. They have been focusing on getting back to the basics as a church. They talked a lot about getting back to Your word. It starts with making a change on the inside before an outward change can be made. The heart has to change first. Which is exactly what I needed to hear and wanted to hear. It’s what the bible study I joined is about. It’s what my best friend and I talked about on the way home from spending the weekend with my person and her family. It’s what my person’s daddy preached about this morning.

He read 2 Corinthians 8:5 which says: And this they did, not as we expected, but first gave their own selves to the Lord, and unto us by the will of God. Her daddy said we should give it all to You first and then to the church. We had to stop holding back and surrender it all to You. He said we should give our tongues to speak for You, our hands to serve for You, our feet to walk for You, and our backs to labor for You. That’s what got me the most. Our every move should be for You, to bring glory to You.

I gave up social media and all the extra stuff for 40 days so, I would make more time to spend with You. I kept wanting to read these devotions and spend more time with You, but I wasn’t giving up anything to spend that time with You. So, I took away the distractions. I made time. Today, I realized I didn’t want the relationship that I’m working on to be temporary or to have a deadline. I want to give even more to You. I want to stop holding back. My New Year’s resolutions was to work on cleaning my heart and my words. I want to take it step further. I want to clean up my actions too. I want my heart to be lived through my words and actions and every part of me. I want to use my tongue, my hands, my feet, my back, my everything for Your will. I want to be found in You. I want to be filled with You. I want people to stop seeing me and see You in me. I’m learning to be the light.

Maya Angelou said: “A woman’s heart should be so hidden in God that a man has to seek Him just to find her.” I want to be that kind of woman. I want to live for You. I want my actions to reflect my words.

So, that is my prayer today. I pray for best friend and her family. I pray for my person and her family. I pray that you surround all of them with your love this week. I pray that I give it all to you. I pray that I take an inventory of what’s in my life and do some spring cleaning to get the clutter out. I pray that I watch more closely what I fill my heart with. I pray that I grow in my walk with you. I pray that I keep studying your word. I pray that you keep teaching me and leading me. I pray that you keep changing me. I pray that you move me and guide me. I pray that I share your love. I pray that I keep learning to be the light. I pray that I share your light with the world. Thank you for everything you’ve taught me this year. I pray that you keep working on my heart. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One thought on “A brand new life is calling and I owe it all to grace.

Leave a Reply

