I’m fixing my eyes on You.

Part of this weekend’s homework for my marketing class was to take the VALS survery. The survery looks at our values, attitude, and lifestyles for market research. I thought I was one thing and wound up being another. I am an Achiever. I seek accomplishments to gain approval and recognition. I realized that was true real quick. It is ingrained into my personality, my need for acceptance. What I forget sometimes is that You accept me. You gave up Your life just so I could be free. You love me and I don’t have to earn that love. It comes completely free. It is unconditional. There is nothing I do or don’t do that will change it. You know all I’ve done and still love me. You know how many hairs are on my head. You know every mistake, every bad thought, every accomplishment, and every good intention. You know me completely. You created me.

There is a song from Rich Mullins that I used to sing allllll the time:

“And Step by step You’ll lead me
And I will follow You all of my days”

I decided to move my focus more towards you. I am having a change of heart. My journey isn’t for them, it’s for you. I am changing my direction. Proverbs 16:9 says:

The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps.

Lord, help me to listen to Francesca Battistelli words:

“But when I fix my eyes on all that You are
Then every doubt I feel
Deep in my heart
Grows strangely dim
All my worries fade
And fall to the ground
Cause when I seek Your face
And don’t look around
Any place I’m in
Grows strangely dim”

So, this is my prayer today. I pray that I shift my focus. I pray you change my heart. I pray that you change my direction. I pray that I realize how blessed I am. I pray that I follow you. I pray that you lead me where you want me to go. I pray that I learn to accept your love. I know it’s hard for me to even imagine that kind of unconditional love, but you gave it to me completely. Lord, you love me more than I will ever be able to understand. Lord, fix my eyes on all that you are. There are literally tears in my eyes saying this prayer. I am realizing how completely free and unconditional your love is. Lord, guide me. Move me. Lord, I am yours and you are mine. I am your child. I want to follow you. I want to seek you. I want you to establish my steps. I want you to lead me step by step. Lord, fix my eyes. Lord, let every worry grow dim. Let every doubt grow dim. Let everything of this world grow dim. Lord, change my heart. Lord, heal my heart. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

