And He’s given us new life.

Today is my daddy’s birthday so, naturally I’ve been thinking about him today. My daddy showed me how to give everything my all. He showed me that doing things half way wasn’t going to cut it. I needed to be all in, whole heartily. When he was teaching me that, it was about finding a screwdriver or his drill. “If I wanted to find it, I would.” I may not have enjoyed that lesson much, but it proved to be very useful. Erma Bombeck said: “When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left and could say, I used everything you gave me.” My daddy is doing that. He has always given 110% to anything he does. As he has gotten older, he has given more and more to You, Lord.

My parents taught me how to believe. They also gave me all the freedom to come to the decision on my own, which helped me grow in my beliefs. When I was little, they dedicated me to the church and to You. As I grew up, they taught me. They gave me a foundation that I could stand on.

I believe in You, God the Father. I believe in Jesus Christ. I believe in the Holy Spirit. I believe You have given me new life. I believe in the crucifixion. I believe that He conquered death. I believe in the resurrection. And I believe He’s comin’ back again, I believe. So, let my faith be more than anthems. Let my faith be greater than the songs I sing. And in my weakness and temptations I believe, I believe!

A few weeks ago, my dad taught this lesson at church. He was talking about how we had to practice like we do for sports in our faith. He said we needed to put effort into our faith so we could grow and our faith had meaning. The same we way we study plays or run laps was how we needed to treat our faith. We need to come to You in prayer. We need to read and study your word. We get better at sports the same way we grow in You, by working at it. We put action behind our words.

So, that is my prayer today. I pray for my daddy. I pray he has a wonderful birthday. Thank you for sending him 47 years ago. I pray that I keep believing. I pray that I keep growing in you. I pray that I put action behind my words. I pray that I study your word more. I pray that I come to you more. You gave me life by sending me to my parents 23 years ago and 16 years ago I was saved and you gave me new life. I pray that I use my life for your will. I pray that I give back to you. I pray that I use all the talents and gifts you gave me. I pray that I give everything to you. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

