I am still that girl.

I wrote this list of things about myself a few years ago. On the list, I wrote things I liked about myself like I jump and scream when I’m really excited. (I used to do this reallyyy embarrassing dance where I clapped. I looked like a seal.) I wrote things I didn’t like that I am hard headed. I wrote funny things like how I cry at the values.com commercials. I wrote things I wanted like a simple life and my nose pierced. (Kinda glad I never got my nose pierced now. I was never a big fan of pain, even if it’s only for a second.) The one that stuck out to me was: “wish I prayed more.” I could have cried. It was literally in the middle of the list, just stuck in there. I felt so proud reading it because this year I did just that. I prayed more.

I’ve heard that if you put positive energy out there and keep moving forward, it will grow. I realized that is what I did by writing that list. A list that just sat there in a box on my desk for years until today. I always believed that if you wanted your dreams to come true, you had to make a plan. A plan that takes you from where you are to where you want to be. The first part in that plan is knowing who you are. In high school, we did these journals in my English classes. One of the prompts was this I am… poem. So, I thought I would do one again.

I am still that girl.

I feel blessed.

I understand my walk with You more.

I will continue to pray more.

I am still that girl.

I see Your love more.

I touch my pen to the paper.

I hear my daddy’s voice in my head.

I say things my mama did.

I pretend to have it all together.

I am still that girl.

I worry I’m not enough.

I dream of walking down the isle to the man you created for me.

I try to bring glory to Your name.

I want to make a difference.

I wonder if I do make a difference.

I hope I make You proud.

I am still that girl.

So, that is my prayer today. I pray that I am still that girl. I pray that I keep wanting more of you. I pray that I keep praying. I pray that I keep walking towards you. I pray that I keep listening to you. I pray that while I continue to grow, I hold onto some of the girl that I used to be. I pray that I make her proud. I pray that I make my parents proud. Most importantly, I pray that I make you proud. I pray that you forgive me when I stumble. I pray that when I do, I learn from it and move forward. I pray that I stay positive and growing in your love. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

