Cause we’re only here for a little while.

So, my dad likes to tell me no. He thinks that by telling me no to things he is protecting me or something. Even though, I prove to him how fabulous I am all the time. He likes to use me in stories all the time at church. Usually, they are cute stories. Like the time my parents were fighting and I ran into my bedroom and got my bible and brought it to them and said Jesus said to love each other. Stories like that are cute! I mean, I was adorable!! This latest story he told was about how he wouldn’t let me do the pageant when I was in high school. I apparently was oblivious and didn’t realize the reason he wouldn’t let me was because girls can be mean sometimes. So, my senior year, I told my dad I was doing the pageant and I had saved up to do so. I came home with two trophies: one of three class favorites and Miss Congeniality. To be honest, I really just wanted to get all dressed up. I got some friends to do it with me and we just had fun with it. It’s one of my favorite senior memories. (My hair was flawless that night too!) My dad told everyone how I showed him that when I put my mind to something I can’t be stopped.

So, then why does he still try to stop me??? We were on facetime yesterday. He told me about my brother’s new double bass and how he was learning to play it and how the whole house was shaking. It was cute. I then told him I wanted to learn how to play something too; either the fiddle or the violin or both. He then laughs and proceeds to tell me that I don’t have a musical bone in my body! I responded with that’s the whole reason to learn. One minute my daddy is giving me the Rocky speech about how I can do anything, then he’s telling me I can’t learn! (He is soooo confusing!)

Yet again my daddy didn’t learn. He can’t just go around telling me I can’t because he is the very person that taught me I can. What better time than the present. I’ve been wanting to learn since I was a kid so, why don’t I just go ahead and try? So, he might as well go buy some ear plugs. Maybe this summer I’ll come home with a new hobby. Plus, this 90’s throwback was playing in my head, encouraging me.

So, that is my prayer today. I pray that I make the most of my time. I pray that I pray what needs praying. I pray that I mend what needs mending. I pray that I walk what needs walking. I pray that I say what needs saying. I pray that I learn new things. I pray that grow closer to you. I pray that I lead others to you. I pray that I keep following you. I pray that I keep moving forward. I pray that I use all the talents you have given me for your glory. I pray that everything I do points back to you. I pray for my daddy. I pray that he knows how much I love him. I pray that he knows it’s never to late to learn new things. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

