I’ve seen what faith can do.

My middle name is Faith. I’ve always loved my middle name. (Anddd because I’m a tad bit crazy…) I was on Pinterest and I started thinking about future children’s names. I’ve thought about it before and decided I wanted to share that with my girls. I want them to have middle names like joy or love or charity or something like that. So, I was thinking and I came up with Maisey Grace.

Because my middle name is Faith, I get a daily reminder of what my core is. I get a daily reminder of what keeps me growing and what keeps me grounded. My faith is what keeps me centered. It is what I made of. It is what keeps me going. I was raised in the church and then I made a decision to follow You when I was in the second grade. I chose to get baptized and make that commitment. I keep making that choice every single day. Of course, I’ve slipped and I’ve had doubts, but I’ve seen what You can do. I’ve seen what faith can do.

So, what is faith? Simply believing in what you can’t see? I used to think that’s all it took, but now I realize it’s a little more than that. Jamie in A Walk To Remember said this about her faith: “It’s like the wind. I can’t see it, but I feel it.” I think we can see faith all around us. I think we can see You all around us. I see your love Sunday mornings at church, on Saturday mornings doing community service, at Winter Jam, when someone opens the door for someone else, when my dad drove me all over town for colorguard or FCCLA, when my mama checked me out of school to get my nails done because kids were mean, when my mama walked me down the church isle to tell the children’s director I wanted to get baptized and supported my decision, when my best friend just sat with me when I needed to cry, when some of my Alpha Gam sisters pray for me, when I was a freshman at college and a girl walked me to my class because I was lost, when charity events raise more than they thought they could, and when simple little moments add up to a love story surrounded by You. Your love is all around us. We just have to open our eyes and see it.

So, that is my prayer today. I pray that I keep seeing the beauty in the little things. I pray I keep seeing you everywhere I go. I pray that I keep seeing your love. I pray that I share your love. I pray that I keep growing in my faith. I pray that I keep following you. I pray that I remember that you’re with me always. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

