You give me hope.

I am 23 years old. I have naturally brown hair, but this year I have dyed it red, blonde, and burgundy. I’m from Leeds, Alabama and attend the University of South Alabama. This year I have changed a lot. I was the president of the Theta Epsilon chapter of Alpha Gamma Delta. My presidency ended in December and to be honest, now I have way too much free time on my hands. I’m used to being a busy bee running around doing everything. There’s this story in Luke 10, I was told as a kid about Mary and Martha. When Jesus came to visit them, Mary sat and listened and took everything in. While, Martha cooked and cleaned and made sure everything was perfect. I am definitely a Martha kind of girl. I am working on it though. I cry at happy things like Hallmark commercials. I’m kinda awkward at times and kinda fabulous at others. My life is practically a musical because I break into song all the time. (The only problem is, I am a terribleeee singer.)

For my CA 260 class, we were asked to write in a blog. We could use our personal ones or start a new one. Honestly it’s a little scary for me to share my personal one. A lot of things scare me though and the reason I started this blog was to get out of my comfort zone and grow closer with You, Lord. This blog has become my prayer journal and a record of my walk with You. It started when I heard the song, Healing Begins. I wanted to find growth. I wanted to learn something.

I think that blogs are for expressing yourself and growing and learning. I think they make us look at things a little differently and from a different perspective. I think we read blogs because we found something we connect with, someone who shares our perspective and thought process, but also teaches us something new. I’ve started reading a couple blogs about growing in your faith. I’ve also read a few about college and sorority life. My Alpha Gam sister just started one too so, obviously I’m reading that. I believe blogs can be used in Public Relations as a branding tool. I think as a Public Relations professional you create brands. I think brands should follow the organizations core values and mission. I think everything should relate and work together. I think it is our job to share that message and brand with the public. I think it is our job as Public Relations professionals to use those tools and brands to make a better community.

So, here is my prayer today. I pray that I learn to use the tools I am being given to better my future. I pray that I keep growing. I pray that I keep getting closer to you, Lord. I pray for my class and this semester. I pray we work hard and our hard work is rewarded. I pray we learn a lot. I pray we learn from each other and from our textbooks. Thank you for everything I’ve already learned this year. I pray I keep learning. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

