I will run to you.

While in college, I feel like I have had to move every few months. As soon as I get settled into a room then it’s winter break or summer break and I’m left to pack once again. One good thing about having to move every few months is that I get to super deep clean my room and find old notes. A while ago, during the Sunday sermon, the preacher said: “He loves you just the way you are, but He loves you too much to leave you the way you are.” I immediately wrote it down because that one sentence spoke volumes to me. You love me too much to leave me the way I am. Wow.  I make mistakes all the time. I let people down. I get jealous. I hold grudges. I lash out. I am a work in progress. You are working on my heart every single day. Ricardo Sanchez said: “The devil knows your name, but calls you by your sin. God knows your sin, but calls you by your name.” I can’t even imagine that kind of forgiveness. I’ll say something once without thinking and remember it for the rest of my life. How You can just forgive me and love me, knowing everything blows my mind. Tim Keller said: “You are more sinful than you could dare imagine and you are more loved and accepted than you could ever dare hope.” I can’t even process that kind of love. You know my deepest secrets, my biggest fears, my worst mistakes and You love me still. PrayInFaith tweeted: “You may slip, but God isn’t going to let you fall. His loving arms will always be there to catch you.” 

GODS_Graces tweeted: “God not only sees where you are, He sees where you can be.” Because of that love and forgiveness, we are called to change our minds, our hearts, and our actions. The first thing to change is our minds. Godly_Life tweeted: “The things we think about, focus on, and surround ourselves with will shape who we become.” What we pay attention to has so much impact on who we are. I use lyrics and movie quotes and things I see on Pinterest in every day conversation without even realizing it. My dad can use a cliche or quote once and it’s still running around my head years later. What we see and hear impacts our hearts and what we feel, what we believe. The last thing to change is our actions. GODS_Graces tweeted: “Your thoughts become your words and your attitude. Where the mind goes, the man follows.” The negative stuff stays with us a lot longer, so we have to work even harder to stay positive. I heard once that: “You decide every moment of every day who you are and what you believe in. You get a second chance, every second.” So, I’m deciding right now that I am gonna do a better job of watching what goes into my mind, my heart, and my actions.

“Watch your thoughts, they become words;
watch your words, they become actions;
watch your actions, they become habits;
watch your habits, they become character;
watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.”

I have ready my favorite verse 1520 times and never focused on the next verse. Philippians 4:9 is: “The things you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.” 

So, that is my prayer today. I pray that put action behind my words. I pray that I watch my mind, my thoughts, my heart, my words, my actions, my habits, my character, and my destiny. I pray that all of these things point towards you. I pray that you use me. I pray that when I slip, that I learn from it and let it go. Thank you for your love and forgiveness. Thank you for not leaving me the way I am. Thank you for working on me. Thank you for letting me grow. Thank you for giving me the courage to change. Thank you for giving me the tools to change. Thank you for teaching me. I pray that put into practice what you have taught me. Thank you for steadying my heart. Thank you for letting me run to you. I pray that I keep focusing on you. I pray that I filled with you and your love. I pray that I fill my vessel with you more. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

