Into marvelous light I’m running.

Winter’s Tale was one of those movies that made me think.

We didn’t even realize that Will Smith was going to be in the movie, but he was amazing. He scared us and left us in awe, at the same time. I thought that was more accurate than the devil we usually see with the pitch fork and horns. Satan was an angel, so wouldn’t he be beautiful? Plus if he’s completely scary and ugly then why would anyone listen to him? I always thought he was supposed to be like cunning, charming, and manipulative.

In the movie, Satan gave the characters the freedom to choose. This was very different from what we usually see, but I thought it was more realistic. Like You, Satan gives us the choice. We have complete freedom to decide what we want to do, but we have to deal with the consequences of those choices.

Then today, I was listening to my Into the Woods soundtrack for the millionth time.

“Witches can be right, Giants can be good.
You decide what’s right you decide what’s good
Someone is on your side
OUR side
Our side–
Someone else is not
While we’re seeing our side
Our side..
Our side–
Maybe we forgot: they are not alone.
No one is alone.”

I’ve always known that Satan wasn’t alone, but I’ve never thought about it much, to be honest. I realized that at some point in their lives, they have done something good. I believe in the good in people. I believe everyone has at least one redeeming quality. I believe that You are with everyone. I believe that You love each and every one of us, even if we turn away from You. I believe that even the darkest person can turn to You and be used. I believe we all have a purpose. I believe You can use us all. I believe we can all be the light and bring glory to You.

When my friend and I were talking about Winter’s Tale a while ago and she brought up this quote from Mark Twain. He said: “But who prays for Satan? Who, in eighteen centuries, has had the common humanity to pray for the one sinner that needed it most?”

So, that is my prayer today. I am praying for all the people I forgot and that you never will. I’m praying for Satan. I’m praying for the people following him. I’m praying for the people against you. I’m praying for the people that hate you. I’m praying for the very people that need you most. I’m praying for all of us because we all fall short sometimes. I’m praying for all of us that sinned and created the need for the cross. I pray that they see your light. I pray they turn from darkness and turn to you. C.S. Lewis said: “He died not for men, but for each man. If each man had been the only man made, he would have done no less.” You died for the very people that put you on that cross. You died for me when I surely didn’t deserve it. I pray for each and every person that you died for. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

