I know exactly who I am.

I’m a yes girl. Yes to fairy tales. Yes to love. Yes to forgiveness. Yes to grand gestures. Yes to kindness. Yes to openness. Yes to vulernablity. I’m Gigi from He’s Just Not That Into You that puts herself out there too much, over thinks everything, and is sensitive to every word people say. I’m that girl. I believe in the kind of true love I see at church. I’m the kind of girl that wants to be that old couple holding hands and singing their heart out for You, Lord. I believe miracles happen in the rain and the sunshine.

Ive written a ridiculously long letter that he will never respond to. I’ve waited around after a football game to tell a guy I liked him and literally ran away after. I’ve been laughed at after I told him how I felt. I’ve said yes to a joke ask out while half the class laughed. I’ve believed the bully was just lost and fell for him because of all the good I saw in him. I’ve fallen for my elementary school class clown and trouble maker because he was just acting out. I’m the girl that will tell people exactly how I feel except when I’m hurt. I will never be the girl in the movies that lets fear stop her from true love. I’ll find my way and I won’t stop looking for the man You created for me.

I’m the girl that looks for the best in people. I’m the girl that will go out of my way to make someone smile. I am the girl that will sing along with the radio terribly off key. I’m the girl that can’t dance, but always will. I’m the girl that loves to laugh at the cheesy stuff. I’m the girl that will cry when hallmark commercials come on. I’m the girl that will share everything she’s got (except my little sister doesn’t need to know that). I’m the girl with a little brother for a hero. I’m the quiet shy girl in the corner with a book and the loud girl laughing with her friends. I’m the girl that notices the small stuff. I like simple. I’m emotional and sensitive, but I have a really good eye for the small stuff that makes ordinary things magical.

I’m stubborn sometimes, but at the same time completely willing to move things around for others. I’m the girl that will want to spend every second with people, but will also need lots of alone time. I’m fickle. Sometimes, I can’t make a decision and need a few minutes to think. Sometimes, I’m decisive and firm. I’m the girl that completely hates to be told what she’s doing wrong, but will listen to every word they say and do my best to work on it and change for the better.

I won’t apologize for that girl. I’m proud of that girl.

So, this is my prayer today. I pray that I always know who I am. I pray that I never lose that girl. I pray that I keep looking to you to show me strength. I pray that I keep my eyes focused on you. I pray that I keep growing in you. I pray that I find myself more and more in you. I pray that my heart is filled with your love. I pray that I keep seeking your love. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

