Things will be all right now.

I went with my family to go see Into the Woods when it first came out. I loved it and I’m pretty sure I am the only one in my family to love it. It was very different from the original fairy tales. I expected that, but I had no idea what I was in for. With as much as I loved the “life lessons” throughout the movie. (And I loveeeeee life lessons!) The end is what left me head over heels in love. Some of the characters died leaving the rest of them in the woods. Emily Blunt started singing “Sometimes people leave you halfway through the wood.” At this point, I was at a loss for words. I started crying. “Do not let it grieve you, No one leaves for good.” Ok, so, I thought I was crying before. Now I was ugly crying. (Like runny nose, hyperventilating, uglyyyy crying.) “You are not alone. No one is alone.” (Seriously, I lost it.)

With everything that happened in 2014, I thought we would fall apart and we did. We were caught off guard. We were unraveled. I tried to look for a reason so I could understand why things happened. It wasn’t until I heard Emily Blunt that I realized sometimes people leave us halfway through the wood and we don’t know why. It was like I had a divine intervention right there in the movie. I thought we wouldn’t survive. I thought we would be forever altered and we were. We are altered. We are changed. We think before we speak. We tell the ones we love that we love them more. We are vulnerable. We are stronger and weaker at the same time. We are kinder.

The next day, I went to the store and bought the soundtrack. I have practically burned a hole in the CD with as many times as I have listened to it. I don’t know if it was just how Emily Blunt sang with Stephen Sondheim’s words for me to hear. I don’t know if I was just finally in place to hear them. Maybe it was both of those things, but I was listening. “Hold him to the light now, Let him see the glow. Things will be all right now.”

So, this is my prayer today. Thank you for making sure I got the message. Thank you for reminding me that I am not alone. Thank you for not giving up on me. Thank you for showing me your light. Thank you for showing me your unending love and grace. I pray that I take Stephen Sondheim song with me. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

