Before I ever knew you I dreamed of you.

Yesterday, I went to lunch with my mom and one of my best friends before I went back to school in Mobile. We were talking as usual and got on the subject of our plans after graduation and what not. I remembered that my 10 year plan that I made several years ago consisted of my college graduation and wedding.

My sister decided a few years ago that she wanted to wear some variation of mom’s dress for her wedding. So, I decided I wanted to get married on the same day my parents did, August 20. I looked in the calendar for the next time that August 20 rolled around on a Saturday which is in 2016 and determined that I would get married then. That’s after my graduation so I would have time to get settled and ready. August is warm, but not too hot. It was perfect.

Shortly after that I found out the American Village hosts weddings. It was perfect. There is a little white church for the ceremony and a barn for the reception which is what I’ve always wanted. So, yesterday at lunch, I remembered this plan and realized that date was coming a lot sooner than I realized.

So, my best friend is nuts and says I’m gonna need to start planning now, even without a groom. Well, my mama gets even nuttier and says I should go ahead and call the American Village and reserve the date and ask questions about it, again without a groom. Then, because I am the nuttiest of all, I write it on my to-do list later to call and ask questions about reserving a venue for a wedding with absolutely no groom. (Did I mention, there was no groom for this imaginary wedding?)

I don’t want much. I don’t want some big huge elaborate thing. I want simple. I want a rehearsal dinner outside with twinkly lights all in the trees and one big long rectangular table like a family. I want a ceremony focused solely on us and You, Lord. I don’t want any frills (besides my dress, of course). I want a little southern reception filled with love, dancing, and country music. I want lights and little American flags everywhere, but I don’t want it to be cheesy looking. It’s not too much to ask for, right? I’ve been dreaming of my wedding since I was a little girl. I want the whole day to circle around the of us joining together as a family through You. I want it to be personal to us (whoever “us” is).

So, this is my prayer today. I pray for the man that I’m gonna walk down the aisle to. I pray that he is a strong man because he is gonna need to be able to deal with my kind of crazy. I pray that he is looking to you. I pray that I look to You too. Lord, you write better stories than I could ever even dream. I pray that whether I get married tomorrow or August 20, 2016 or 10 years from now, that no matter what You are the center of that day. I pray that you keep writing my story. I pray a little something extra today for him. I pray that he has a good day and is surrounded by your love. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

