Oh Christmas tree.

We’re getting my parents’ Christmas tree today so, I was thinking about where Christmas trees came from and what they symbolize. (My tree has been up since the first week in October! I needed the Christmas spirit a little early this year.) Christmas trees can mean a lot of different things to people. Onechristianministry.com gave these explanations for the symbolism:

A tree (remembrance of what Jesus did on the cross which is called a tree).
Lights and ornaments (representational of the glory, and wonder of what Jesus did on the cross).
A star at the top (representing the star that was above Jesus Christ at his birth time).
And we give gifts (God gave us the gift of Jesus on his birth, the wise men gave Jesus birthday presents, and Jesus gave us the gift of salvation on the tree. We continue in the tradition by following in the joy of giving gifts).”

For me, the tree symbolizes the life You gave for us and the life we share with our loved ones. My mama is a pro at decorating the tree. She gets one like a million feet tall every year and then puts so many strands of lights on it that people can see it miles away. She has a very precise way that she puts the ornaments on. Each one has a specific place for a special reason. There is nothing my mama does with more care than that tree. (She hates to take it down so, it usually stays up way longer than most people. I can’t say anything though, my tree has been up for almost two months already.)

I found some Christmas tree facts thanks to History.com:

“The tallest living Christmas tree is believed to be the 122-foot, 91-year-old Douglas fir in the town of Woodinville, Washington.”

“In 1923, President Calvin Coolidge started the National Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony now held every year on the White House lawn.”

“In 1912, the first community Christmas tree in the United States was erected in New York City.”

“Thomas Edison’s assistants came up with the idea of electric lights for Christmas trees.”

As much as I love ornaments, the lights were always my favorite. They mean the most to me. I love how they light up the whole room including the people in it.

I could sit around watching Christmas movies on Hallmark Channel and drinking hot chocolate all day! Nothing gets me in a better mood than watching people come alive with the Christmas spirit. I love the fairy tales and love stories, the families coming together, the lessons learned, and the way they always seem to find their way back home to You.

So, this is my prayer today. I pray that we are able to pick out a tree today that will bring honor and glory to you. I pray that we remember the most important gift you ever gave us. I pray we reflect on what Christmas means to us. I pray that tree makes it home safely. I pray that the tree brings my mama as much joy as it always does. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

