And greater is the One living inside of me.

Taylor Swift wrote this letter to her fan that was being bullied back in September. I saved the link because I really liked what Taylor said in the letter and thought I would want to reread it one day. I was right. This is the letter:

“Reading this made me so sad because I love seeing you in your videos and photos being so happy and wide eyed, like the world isn’t as harsh and unfair as it actually is. I hate thinking about your pretty face covered in tears, but I know why you’re crying because I’ve been in your place. This isn’t a high school thing or an age thing. It’s a people thing. A life thing. It doesn’t stop. It doesn’t end or change. People cut other people down for entertainment, amusement, out of jealousy, because of something broken inside them. Or for no reason at all.

It’s just what they do, and you’re a target because you live your life loudly and boldly. You’re bright and joyful and so many people are cynical. They won’t understand you and they won’t understand me. But the only way they win is if your tears turn to stone and make you bitter like them. It’s okay to ask why. It’s okay to wonder how you could try so hard and still get stomped all over. Just don’t let them change you or stop you from singing or dancing around to your favorite song.

You’re going into high school this week and this is your chance to push the reset button on how much value you give the opinion of these kids, most of whom have NO idea who they are. I’m so proud of you and protective of you because you DO. If they don’t like you for being yourself, be yourself even more.

Every time someone picks on me, I’ll think of you in the hopes that every time someone picks on you, you’ll think of me…and how we have this thread that connects us. Let them keep living in the darkness and we’ll keep walking in the sunlight. Forever on your side, Taylor.”

People are unnecessarily mean sometimes. People will try to cut you down or break you. People will hurt you. They will leave you out. They will tell you all your flaws. They will belittle you and tell you that you are inadequate. No matter what you do, people will always find something to criticize. I heard this quote once: “You may think your only choices are to swallow your anger or throw it in someone’s face. There’s a third option: You can just let it go, and only when you do that, is it really gone and you can move forward.” To be honest, I struggle with this. I get bitter and I take things personally. I take their words and actions straight to heart.

On the radio, the other day, was a new Mercy Me song called Greater.

Lord, You are greater than all my doubt. You are greater than all my bitterness. You are greater than my fears of inadequacy. You are greater than all my flaws. You are greater than all the bad in the world. You are greater than any battle I could ever win or lose.

So, that is my prayer today. I pray that I remember that you are greater. I pray for the mean people. I pray they find love and peace. I pray they learn to spread more kindness than hatred. I pray for the girl that Taylor wrote this letter for. I pray that tomorrow she has a wonderful day. I pray for Taylor. I pray she keeps writing letters like these. I pray she keeps inspiring people to walk in the sunshine rather than the darkness. I pray that I remember not to let the darkness control me. I pray that you lead me, Lord. I pray that I try to walk with you more. I pray that I grow closer to you.  And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

