Just wrap Your arms around me, let me know I’m safe.

“Grief can be a burden, but also an anchor. You get used to the weight, how it holds you in place.” Sarah Dessen wrote that in her book, The Truth About Forever. The more I thought about “how it holds you in place,” the more I remembered this song from Dolly Parton.

Today is my birthday, but it’s also Christopher’s. I don’t even know what to say. All my words just seem like they aren’t enough. I want to just sit in the bed and hide away from today, to be completely honest. Christopher taught me better than that though.

The other day I saw this article about the top 10 upcoming women in country music and one of the women was Mickey Guyton. I really liked her so I just kept listening to her songs. Safe is one of her songs and these are the lyrics:

“The storm is calling, rain’s falling down like tears
The water’s rising, bringing on my darkest fears
I need a lighthouse, someone to guide my way
Oh, just wrap your arms around me, let me know I’m safe

Sometimes it’s heavy, this life can be so cold
Sometimes I feel lost, can’t seem to get back home
I need a compass, someone to guide my way
Oh, just wrap your arms around me, let me know I’m safe

Come on love, show me love, take this crying from my eyes
Come on love, show me love, I could use some tonight
All the daylight’s fading, my hope is slippin’ away
Oh, baby wrap your arms around me, let me know I’m safe”

The more I listened to the song, the more I realized how blessed I am, because You are holding me.

So, that is my prayer today. Thank you Lord for being my lighthouse. Thank you for being my compass. Thank you for letting me know I’m safe. Thank you for holding me when the tears fall. Thank you for my friendship with Christopher. Thank you for all that he taught me. Thank you for the time I did have. Thank you for sending him. Thank you for your love. Thank you for holding me together. Lord, I’m running to you today. Thank you for catching me.  And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

