It’s all about you Jesus.

I was on Facebook today and this quote scrolled by that said: “God didn’t add another day in your life because you needed it, he added it because someone out there needs you.” I think I get so caught up in all the things I want to accomplish, all the things I want to do, all the things I want to be. (See that key word, I? I can be pretty selfish sometimes.) Lord, I forget that it’s not about me. It’s about You.

I think we are all put on this earth to help someone else, to bring people to You. I get so focused on the step in my big plan that I need to be reminded that I am just a very small part of the plan. That’s not to say that I don’t still want those things or that they aren’t important because they are important and I should still strive to accomplish my goals. They just are a very tiny part of the plan. They aren’t the reason I’m still here. I’m still here because my work isn’t done yet. I’m here because Your plan is so much bigger than mine.

One of my favorite quotes is from Thomas Edison and it says: “If we did all the things we were capable of doing, we would literally astound ourselves.” Let me repeat that. We would literally astound ourselves. We often underestimate our own potential. We give ourselves the short end of the stick. We let others condense us and put us in boxes. You don’t make mistakes. You don’t make meaningless things. You make everything with a purpose. You make everything glorious. That’s why I like this quote so much because what if we did all that we were capable of? Can You imagine the possibilities? Can You imagine what all we could accomplish? Of course You can because You made us with that idea in mind. Now, what if we used all that potential to help people and to serve You and to love others and bring people to You?  Well I think today has served as a call to action for me.

So, this is my prayer today. I pray that I remember that it’s your will and your plan. I pray that I focus on you. I pray that I keep looking to you. I pray that I learn to love more. I pray that I learn to honor you. I pray that I learn to bring people to you. I pray that I learn to help people more. I pray that I give back to you because I am so thankful for all that you have given me. I pray that I learn to stay humble. I pray that I learn to be kinder. I pray that I don’t lose sight of what is important. I pray that I continue to work towards my goals, but that I work even harder to be closer to you. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

