I have been changed for good.

Yesterday, I was thinking about what I had learned in college. So, today I thought I would make a list of things I would go back and tell myself as a freshman:

1. Don’t confuse friendship for love. It only gets you hurt.

2. Stand up for yourself the moment something happens. Do not dwell on it.

3. There are two sides to every story.

4. Don’t take online classes lightly.

5. Everyone has a story, listen and don’t be afraid to share yours too.

6. You know your own issues better than anyone. Stop letting others have control over you.

7. Move into the house on bid day and don’t move out until you’re an Alum. All of your best memories will be in that house. Cherish them.

8. Talk to someone and swallow your pride. It’s ok that you have anxiety and depression sometimes. Accept your imperfections. You are a work in progress.

9. Don’t listen to what others say about you. You will never their true intentions. I heard that “people are not against you, they are just for themselves.” That one sentence changed my entire perspective on life.

10. Leave the past in the past. Stop holding onto it. Allow yourself to heal and move on.

11. Don’t trust everyone you meet, but don’t hold grudges either.

12. Keep putting yourself out there. Don’t get bitter when you face rejection. Not everyone and everything is meant to be.

13. Remember that you are a lot stronger than you think you are.

14. You are going to experience real heartbreak and loss for the first real time and it’s going to suck and you are going to think the world is ending. You are going to struggle and you are going to be lost, but you have wonderful sisters and family and they will keep finding you no matter how lost you get. You can lean on your faith and find comfort in God.

15. You are going to have to deal with drama from the moment you are born until the very end. It’s at school, work, organizations, and everywhere you go. It is inevitable but that doesn’t mean you have to buy into it or feed it. You can chose to set yourself free of the negative. That doesn’t mean when things get rough that you have a free pass to run away from the problems. Your problems will follow you where ever you go. As an Alpha Gamma Delta more is expected of you and that is not supposed to be a scary thing, it is a responsibility to do better and be better, to make the world better.

16. I went through recruitment because of what it could give me: friends, community service, leadership, etc. I came to bid day because of mattress surfing and For Good. I went to initiation because of what my big was teaching me. I stayed because I found my person, my soulmate, and my littles. I stayed because I gave each one of my sisters a piece of my heart.

So, this is my prayer today. Thank you for the experience I’ve had here. Thank you for the love and joy that I’ve seen. Thank you for the lessons learned. Thank you for forgiving my mistakes. Thank you for changing me for good. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

