I want to leave a legacy.

Tonight, some of my sisters decided to start serenading me with Rascal Flatts songs then Carrie Underwood. (Needless to say I bawled my eyes out.) They added lyrics about squirrels and other Alpha Gam things, which totally had me laughing. (It was so precious!) First they sang Don’t Forget to Remember Me. Don’t those silly girls know I could never forget them? They have truly touched my life in more ways than I can count.

They ended with changing the lyrics to Mama’s Song. Which was kinda perfect because sometimes, as president, I felt like a mom. I worried about them and wished for them only the best. I prayed for them and tried to take care of them as best I could. I tried to help them and show them their potential. So, when they sang this one to me, I kinda lost it. (Tears were everywhere!) Here is what they changed the lyrics to:

“Alyssa, you taught me to do the right things.
So, now you have to let your baby fly.
You’ve given me everything that I will need.
To make it through this crazy thing called life.
And I know you watched me grow up,
and only want what’s best for me.
And I think I found the answer to your prayers.

And Alums are good, so good.
She treats your sisters,
like a real sister should.
She is good, SO good.
Alums makes promises they keep.
No, she’s never gonna leave.
So, don’t you worry about AGD.
Don’t you worry about AGD.

Alyssa, there’s no way you’ll ever lose me.
Giving me away is not goodbye.
As you watch me walk down to my future,
I hope tears of joy are in your eyes. “

I hope that’s true. I hope I taught them a little because they definitely taught me a lot. I hope I left a legacy.

So, that is my prayer. I pray they see how beautiful and smart and talented and kind they are. I pray they thrive and succeed. I pray I touched their lives because they surely changed mine. I hope they fly this next year and every year after that. I hope they see all the potential I see in them. I pray they go out into the world and use their talents and gifts. I pray they make an impact on this campus and this community. I pray they know just how much I love them and cherish them. I pray they continue to grow and learn from each other. I pray they know I will always be here for them and only wish them the best where ever we go. I hope they saw you in me at least once or twice. I pray that I left them something good. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

