I am redeemed.

I absolutely love fairy tales. I love that they teach that love always wins. So, of course when the show, Once Upon A Time, started I was all for it. I love that the lines between good and evil are not always black and white. That even the best people have their weaknesses and even the ones you think will always be the villain, have some good in them. I love that the villains and heroes are not born that way, but they chose to be that way. I love that they have a choice in their actions and a choice in how their stories are written. I think we are all given the freedom of choice. Everything we do is our choice, You just know what we are going to choose before it happens. You gave us life, but what we do with it is up to us.

On the last episode they said that forgiveness was earned.  I agree that when we do something wrong we should apologize and try to make up for it. I don’t think that forgiveness is earned. I don’t think that any amount of good deeds makes up for our mistakes. We are sinners. We are not perfect. I was always taught that Your love was pure; that there were no strings attached. We just have to believe in You. We simply call Your name and ask for forgiveness and confess that You are God. Lord, I believe that you forgave me even though I don’t deserve it. That You took away the darkness and made it light. You took away my sin. That doesn’t mean we should be complacent in our wrongdoings. I believe that because we are forgiven and loved that purely, that we should want to share that love and strive to be better. That doesn’t mean we won’t fall sometimes, but it does mean that we will try harder to be better next time. I believe we are called to live in a way that will honor you. I believe that you saved me for a reason. There is a purpose for my life. I believe that when we accept You into our lives that we are changed. We are redeemed.

When I was younger, in children’s church they always taught it to us by having us make these “salvation bracelets” that were made with different colored beads. Black is our sin which separates us from You. Red is because You died on the cross for our sins. White is our new lives in You because You cleansed all our sins. “Come now, let us reason together, says the LORD: though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall become like wool.” Isaiah 1:18 Blue is for our baptism when we confess You are God. Green is for our growth in You and our faith. “But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.” 2 Peter 3:18 Gold is for the promise that one day we will meet You in Heaven.

So, that is my prayer today. Thank you for forgiving me. Thank you for saving me. Thank you for your grace and salvation. Thank you for loving me with a pure love. I pray that I show more of your love and unselfishness. I pray that I learn to forgive more easily. I pray that I give more to those around me. I pray that I strive to be better for you. I pray that I use the life you gave me. I pray that I grow in you. I pray that I use my life to serve you. I pray that I use my life to lift your name up. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

