Go on and try to tear me down.

I’m realizing lately that I have a lot of quirks. Like I love buying high heels, but I hate wearing them. I’m pretty sure I just like looking at them in my closet. I laugh like a high pitched hyena. I’m either extremely quiet and reserved or extremely loud and obnoxious. There is no in-between. I always say the wrong thing. (And then I dwell on it for the rest of my life.) I fall a lot. I cannot sing, but when I’m in the car, I am totally Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood rolled up in one. I am a creature of habit. I like what I like. I am constantly writing things down. (Especially songs I like.) I like movies made during the 1990’s and early 2000’s the best. I have an accent that gets stronger when I’m mad or hyper. I don’t like driving on bridges. I bend my knees when I ride elevators because I heard one time that your knees are the first thing to break if an elevator crashes. Sometimes I want attention. Sometimes I cry for no reason at all. I started this January out with like 12 movies, maybe. I now have like 95. (It’s a problem.) I can listen to the same Taylor Swift songs over and over and over. (And over.) I’m real awkward sometimes. I’m also real adorable sometimes. (Especially when my princess hand goes under my chin.) I might be 22 years, but I still wear bows in my hair and I sleep with a teddy bear.

People don’t always understand me. They underestimate me. They think I’m not enough. They think awful things about me and just love telling me every single thing. They think I won’t make it in public relations.

By the way, the girl they thought had no friends or leadership abilities, is doing just fine.

“I could build a castle out of all the bricks they threw at me.”

So, this is my prayer today. I pray that that you keep building me. I pray that you keep working on me. I pray that I continue to grow. I pray that I concentrate more on you. Thank you for loving me. Thank you for my quirks. Thank you for making me the way I am. Thank you for sending people to teach me things. Thank you for making me strong. Thank you for making me resilient. Thank you for seeing in me what others don’t. Thank you for every single hair on my head. Thank you for creating me with a purpose. I pray for my enemies. I pray they have a better day tomorrow. I pray that they are loved. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

