He is jealous for me.

I saw the new gospel version of Nick Jonas’ song “Jealous.” (I do love some Nick Jonas!) I love gospel music! It always sounds so heavenly. Like gospel singers are singing right to you. Like they know something we don’t. If I could sing like that I don’t think I would stop singing. (I am a terrible singer, but that sure doesn’t stop me from singing anyways.)

It got me thinking about what being jealous meant.  So, I googled the definition and this is what is said:

1 feeling or showing envy of someone or their achievements and advantages.
synonyms: envious, covetous, desirous

2 feeling or showing suspicion of someone’s unfaithfulness in a relationship.
synonyms: suspicious, distrustful, mistrustful, doubting, insecure, anxious

3 fiercely protective or vigilant of one’s rights or possessions.
synonyms: protective, vigilant, watchful, heedful, mindful, careful, solicitous

Nick Jonas was clearly singing about the second definition and being jealous in a relationship when he sang the song originally. The gospel version made me think of the song in a different way. I started to rethink what jealous meant. I started thinking about the other two kinds of jealously.

I definitely have moments where I am the first kind of jealously. I look around and see the people in different stages in their lives. I know the grass isn’t always greener. I know that things aren’t always what they seem. I can rationalize the jealously away. I can accept where I am at in life. I can even be happy where I am, but I still get jealous. I get jealous of their accomplishments, their relationships, and mostly their homes. Lately, I’ve been jealous of their relationship with You. That is something I can work on. I have control over that. I want more of You. I want to worship You more. I want to see You more. I want to lift You up more.

I think You are the third kind of jealous. I think You want more of us. I think You want to be closer to us. You love us so much. You created us with a passion and love. You created us with a purpose and for a reason and all You want is more of us.

So, that is my prayer today. I pray for more of you. I pray that I learn to walk with you more. I pray that I talk to you more. I pray that I worship you more. I pray I bring honor and glory to you. I pray that I only get closer to you. I pray that I still get  jealous of you. I pray that I continuously seek more of you. I pray that you still get jealous of me. I pray that you still want more of me. I pray that you still want me of me. I pray that we seek more of each other. I pray that I continue to be in awe of you. I pray I continue to see just how beautiful you are. I pray that I continue to be humbled by your love for me and for everyone you created. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

