For I am Yours and You are mine.

There was a picture on Facebook posted by the Proverbs 31 Ministries that had a quote from Lisa Whittle. It said: “I need God to consume me more than my life currently does.” I opened the picture and let it sit on my computer for a couple of days so I could think about it more. I want that kind of relationship with You, Lord. I want to be consumed by You.

As I was thinking about this, I saw an article. I was curious so, I clicked on it. In the post, she says “Godly Girls Want Jesus.” Lord, I want that. I want to be a Godly girl. I want to be closer to You. She goes on to say “All a Godly girl wants is one thing more than anything else: more of Jesus.” I want to be the type of person that is always striving for more of You. I want to be found in You. I want to be constantly moving towards You.

The article made me think of my favorite verse which is Isaiah 43:2. I went to read the verse again. This time I read a little more though.

1 But now, thus says the Lord, who created you, O Jacob, And He who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; You are Mine. 2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you. 3 For I am the Lord your God, The Holy One of Israel, your Savior; I gave Egypt for your ransom, Ethiopia and Seba in your place. 4 Since you were precious in My sight, You have been honored, And I have loved you; Therefore I will give men for you, And people for your life. 5 Fear not, for I am with you; I will bring your descendants from the east, And gather you from the west; 6 I will say to the north, ‘Give them up!’ And to the south, ‘Do not keep them back!’ Bring My sons from afar, And My daughters from the ends of the earth— 7 Everyone who is called by My name, Whom I have created for My glory; I have formed him, yes, I have made him.” 8 Bring out the blind people who have eyes, And the deaf who have ears. 9 Let all the nations be gathered together, And let the people be assembled. Who among them can declare this, And show us former things? Let them bring out their witnesses, that they may be justified; Or let them hear and say, “It is truth.” -Isaiah 43:1-9

Then as usual the soundtrack in my head started playing.

So, this is my prayer today. I pray that I become consumed by you. I pray that I seek more of you. I pray that I grow closer to you. I pray that I continue to build my relationship with you. I pray that I trust you more. I pray that I remember you are with me always. I pray that I keep my eyes focused on you. I pray that I look for you everywhere I go. I pray that you keep calling me. I pray that you keep reaching for me. I pray I learn to be your witness and servant. I pray that I learn to be a Godly girl. I pray that I keep striving to be more like you. I pray that I keep trying. I pray I remember that I am yours, that I am your child. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

