I’m gonna miss this.

Yesterday, I was so focused on the future and moving out that I realized “I’m gonna miss this.”

I’m gonna miss living in this sorority house. I’m gonna miss the movie nights. I’m gonna miss the sleepovers in the chapter room. I’m gonna sitting up all night talking. I’m gonna miss pulling all nighters in the study room upstairs. I’m gonna miss mattress surfing. I might even miss everyone telling me I’m too loud. (Which I am 99.9% of the time.) I’m gonna miss my little coming into my room everyday and sitting on my bed and telling me about her day. I’m gonna miss all the laughter, tears, screams, and all the noise made here. I’m gonna miss singing at the top of my lungs to recruitment songs, dance competitions, and door chants. I’m gonna miss all the flowers. (Somehow this house is always filled with flowers.)

I’m gonna miss all the memories I made here. Like the time that my best friend and I ran up the stairs screaming and crying and jumping up and down because we got our badges. Or the times that we played Just Dance on the Wii, over and over and over and over again. Or the times we built forts by tacking sheets to the ceiling. I’m gonna miss Christmas here. (It’s soooo pretty.) Or this year for recruitment when we danced to Shake It Off after recruitment parties. Or any one of the pref ceremonies. Or the many times we locked ourselves out of our rooms. Or the crafting sessions for our littles.

So, this is my prayer today. I pray that I say thank you for all the time I’ve spent in this house. Thank you for the friendships that were created here. Thank you for the lessons I’ve learned here. Thank you for the memories made here. I pray that I cherish the time I have left here and make the most of it. I pray that I enjoy the present. I pray for my sisters. I pray that they grow in this house as much as I did. I pray they they enjoy this house and appreciate it. I pray they make as many memories as I did here. I pray they continue some traditions and start some of their own. I pray they relive a few of their childhood memories because college is stressful and every now and then they need to have some fun. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

