I’m gonna get there someday.

I keep getting told that I’m in the “in between” stage. I have so many goals and dreams that I feel like are at the tip of my fingers, but they seem to be just out of reach. I am just not quite there yet. I haven’t graduated yet. I haven’t started my career. I don’t have a place of my own yet. I’m so focused on the next stage. (I literally have every room of my future house completely decorated on Pinterest!) As much as I love college, I am ready for some stability. I am ready to have an actual home. I want to live in one place for more than six months without moving. I want furniture that is not built into the room. I want to be able to take a bath with some candles burning. I want to be able to watch Christmas movies on the Hallmark Channel, which we do not have here. I want a white house with blue shutters and a red front door. I want a porch to wrap all the way around. I want a big yard with trees. I want my dog!!! I totally wouldn’t mind if that house was on a lake either.

So, tonight when I was trying to fall asleep, my mind was running all over the place. I thought something touched my ear, pretty sure it was my blanket. I kinda jumped because I was half asleep. I leave Pandora on when I sleep and this was the song playing.

I can’t explain it. I just felt like I should pay attention to the song so I turned the music up a little louder and listened. I’m glad I did because it seemed to be just what I needed to hear.

So, that’s my prayer today. I pray that I continue to listen to you. I pray that I continue to receive your lessons. I pray that I lean on you. I pray that I remember that it’s your timing. I pray that I trust your plan. I pray that I remember “I’m gonna get there someday.” I pray that I try not to rush the future. Thank you for the many ways I’m blessed. Thank you giving me things to work for. I pray that I keep working as hard as I can to reach my goals and to bring others to you.  I pray that I make you proud. I pray that I learn to be content. I pray that I realize I am right where I am supposed to be, for now. I pray that I am more appreciative of what I have in this moment. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

