That’s something to be proud of.

Today, in class, we are turning in our final resumes and cover letters. We picked a company that we wanted to work for eventually and wrote the cover letter specifically for them. As usual, I chose the USO as my company. (I’ve done like three assignments on the USO now.)

Alyssa Resume-Updated-11-10-14 CoverLetter-11-10-14

I thought it was kinda fitting that I am turning in my assignment about the USO on Veteran’s Day. I love this country and all that it stands for. I have such a respect for those fighting and who have fought for our freedom. I have wanted to find a way to use my talents and skills to give back for as long as I can remember. I don’t think I will ever be able to say thank you enough. I saw an interview years ago with Montgomery Gentry, Toby Keith, and a bunch of other country artists talking about their tours to play for the troops overseas. I think I knew right then when I was watching it that I wanted to be a part of something like that. (Singing was out of the question, but I could totally plan and organize!) I had no idea that a couple of years later I would change my major to communications and put those talents that You gave me to work. You knew all along though. You knew You were leading me to this path. You knew just how to best utilize me. You have been shaping me for a job in communications all along and I didn’t have a clue.

So, this is my prayer today. I pray for past service members. I pray for current service members. I pray for those still fighting. I pray for their safety. I pray that you guide them and protect them. I pray for our political leaders to make the right decisions. I pray for their families. I pray for lost loved ones. I pray for healing for their friends and families. I pray for those transitioning back home. I pray for future service men and women. I pray you watch over them. I pray that one day I will be able to give back. I pray that you use me. I pray that you keep preparing me. I pray for those working at the USO. I pray that they continue to do amazing work. Lord, thank you for all you have done. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

