You gave me wings and made me fly.

Two of my best friends have had a rough few days which totally breaks my heart because I know all You and I want for them is to be happy. It hasn’t been all bad for them (One went home to get some good, quality family time while the other found her missing dog!), but both have had their emotions strained to the fullest. Somehow, both of them keep smiling and keep shining. I’ve been thinking a lot about how blessed I am to have them in my life.

I hope that today they wake up with a purpose. I hope that today is better for them. I hope that today is new start. I hope the rest of the world realizes just how amazing they are. I saw this quote on Pinterest that said: “Sometimes the people around you won’t understand your journey. They don’t need to, it’s not for them.” My two best friends live this. They both live their lives for You, not for anyone else. They both have a grace and confidence that it so precious and rare. I am truly lucky to know them. They are the both the shiny red crayons when everyone else is seeing black and white. They have such a light to give. They both have their own things to teach the world. (They have been teaching me for years!!)

The two of them have done everything in this song. Especially the line: “you gave me faith because you believed.” They have both led me closer to You. They both support and encourage and strengthen my relationship with You, Lord. From long discussions that go on for hours to standing in line for hours at Winter Jam to praying with and for me. Their relationship with You strengthens mine. Through our friendship they have moved my journey with You further.

They have literally been almost every line in the song. Now it’s my turn to return the favor.

So, that is my prayer today. I pray that I am a better friend to them. I pray that I learn to pick them up when they fall. I pray that I bring them to you the way that they brought me to you when I needed it. Thank you for sending them to push me towards you. Thank you for giving them the words that I needed to hear. Thank you for the support they have shown me. I pray that I show them kindness, understanding, compassion, and love. I pray that today is a good day for them. I pray they see your love everywhere they go today. I pray that they know just how beautiful they are, inside and out. I pray that they keep their light shining for you. I pray that they shine so bright that others can’t see anything but you in them. I pray that today they wake up feeling strong, beautiful, talented, brave, happy, confident, kind, generous, and radiant because that’s how I see them everyday. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

