There’s a little flame inside us all.

Today, a new president will be elected. The past few years have been leading me to this day. Today, a new chapter will begin for them. I hope my sisters know just how talented and smart and brave and truly spectacular they are. I hope they know they are loved. I hope they know just how much they have touched my life. I hope they know just how much they have helped me. I hope they know that they are here for a purpose. I hope they know that they matter. I hope that my sisters know that they have a light to give and to share with the world.

I hope they know that things won’t always be easy. Sometimes they are going to have to fight for what they want. I hope they face their battles head on with dignity and grace. I hope they realize that everyone has a story to tell and their own scars. I hope they always show compassion and kindness to those around them. I hope they don’t ever become bitter. I hope they always see the good in the world. I hope they never give up. I hope they always know that they are enough. I hope they know that even if it seems like the whole world is against them, they still have people that love them and rooting for them. I hope they find their best friends here that will always cheer for them like I found. I hope they find a home here like I have. I hope they see the magic in the little things.  I hope they know they are blessed.

I hope they know that bad days end. I hope they know that dark skies go away. I hope they know that they are worthy of respect, of love, of joy, of happiness, of compassion, and of kindness. I hope they always leave things better than they found them. I hope they know they can make a difference. I hope they know that they have the power to change the world. I hope they know they already changed mine.

So, this is my prayer. I pray that you watch over them. I pray that you protect them. I pray that they see your love. I pray that you guide them. I pray that you use them. I pray that they see their potential. I pray they see their light. I pray that they find their sunshine on their darkest days. I pray that they learn a lot over the next few years and not just in the classroom. I pray they find what makes them truly happy. I pray they see you. I pray that you touch their hearts. I pray they always know how wonderful they are. I pray that they keep growing. I pray they impact each other in a positive way. I pray that they keep moving  forward, no matter what tries to stop them. Thank you for leading me here. Thank you for giving me such amazing people. Thank you for blessing me so much. Thank you for the lessons I’ve learned. Thank you for the memories I’ve made. Thank you for giving me a light of my own. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

