You won’t let us break.

The other day a friend of mine was really upset and she said that she didn’t believe in You because everything was going wrong in her life. She was venting to me about how every time she was happy something would happen to mess it all up, that it was just one thing after another. I didn’t really know what to say or how to react. I just wanted to hug her and tell her it was all gonna be ok and that You loved her. I wanted to tell her so many things but I couldn’t find the words. I wanted to protect her from all the bad stuff and show her Your love. I wanted her to know that I’ve been there. I’ve been where I can’t get out of bed for fear of something else going wrong. I’ve been where I feel like everything is completely out of my control. I’ve been where she is.

She doesn’t believe in You because bad things happen and she doesn’t see why You don’t fix them. I think everyone struggles with this at some point in our lives. We don’t see your plan. We don’t see the lessons You are teaching. We don’t see the person You are molding us to be. Then, I remembered this song.

I cannot begin to understand Your plan. I don’t understand why loved ones are taken from us. I don’t understand why my grandma had to get sick and leave us in so much pain or why it’s genetic. I don’t understand why now I have to worry about my mama, my sister and me. I don’t understand why I have to decide on whether to have children of my own one day and risk them having it too. I don’t understand why there is so much hate in the world. I don’t understand why when we are hurt, we hurt others. I don’t understand a lot of things.

I do understand that yes, there is a lot of bad things in the world. Yes, the devil is working really hard. But, you know what? You are working harder. There is so much love and joy in the world. For as many things working against, there is always more working for us. You have so many people out there working for You and for Your purpose. You don’t make mistakes. You are perfect. You are all the love in the world. You show grace and compassion. You show light. You create life. You create joy. You create happiness. You created my friend and You created me. You didn’t create us by accident and we are not mistakes. We were created us for a purpose. You loved us before we were even a thought in our parent’s minds.

So, this is my prayer today. I pray that she knows just how loved she is. I pray that she knows she is not alone. I pray that she knows just how kind, smart, talented, giving, thoughtful, beautiful, and encouraging she is. I pray that she knows that bad things end and new things begin. I pray that she finds hope in you. I pray for her and everyone she cares about. I pray that they are healed. I pray that she finds you again. I pray that you keep working on her heart. I pray that she takes Anthem Light’s song with her and she falls into you. I pray that she knows you won’t let us break. I pray that knows that like Matthew West’s song that you created her. I pray she knows that she is here for a reason, that she is important. I pray that she sees more of the joy and light you made. I pray that she knows that you are for us. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

