Even in my weakest moment I can feel You closin’ the distance.

Today, I was scrolling through my twitter feed and @JesusGraces posted this: “When we can’t piece together the puzzle of our own lives, remember the best view of a puzzle is from above. Let Him help put you together.” All it took was a five minute break from my to-do list to see that tweet and hear this song.

Lord, you amaze me. You are speaking to my heart when I don’t even realize it. When I get overwhelmed, I start to think I have no control. What I need to realize is that I never have control. You do. I need to surrender it all to you. I need to stop trying to manage it all myself and stop trying to deal with everything. I am not a miracle worker. Sometimes I am not even a functioning human being. There are some things that even I can’t fix. (And I am a total fixer!)

I try so hard to be perfect for everyone that I wind up completely failing everyone. Then when people complain about something I am doing, I just want to give up. I go straight to thinking “why do I even try?” I try because I love. I love everything I am doing. I don’t do anything without 100%. I am not a halfway kind of girl. My daddy taught me that. If you aren’t gonna do it full out, you might as well not do it. I try so hard to make things better, to help people. If intention was what counted, I would be a winner every single time!

In the last couple of days, I have felt like nothing I do is good enough. No matter what I do, there is something that one person would do better. (And ohhh how they love to tell me so.) It’s like that saying: “You can be the ripest, juiciest peach in the world, and there’s still going to be somebody who hates peaches.” (I was born in Georgia and they are known for their peaches! Like I’m totally a peach!)

So, this is my prayer today. Lord, what I need to realize is that without You, I am nothing. I need you to take my puzzle pieces and put them together. I pray that you keep shaping me. I pray that I keep realizing that I need you. I pray that you continue to open my eyes. Lord, help me to stop listening to others and listen to you. I pray that I learn to give you control over my life.  Lord, I pray that you keep my heart open and to keep trying. I pray that I never give up. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

