I want to show the world the love You gave for me.

I started watching the show Felicity (you know, way back from my childhood in 1998). At the end of the 6th episode one of the characters says a quote from a W.H. Auden poem:

“If equal affection cannot be, Let the more loving one be me.”

I started thinking about this quote. I really liked it. I like that it could be applied in so many ways. It could be used with people that don’t like you, because we are taught to love our enemies. We are taught to “kill them with kindness.” When I was younger, I thought that was being fake. It didn’t take long into my college experience to realize that being nice to people you don’t like or that don’t like you is part of growing up. Sometimes you simply have to be the bigger person. Sometimes you have to learn to take things that upset you with a grain of salt. You come out a stronger person for it.

My first thought was about the kind of person I wanted to be. I want to love more in friendships, in relationships, and with my family. I want show the world as much love as I can. I want to keep loving even when life gets rough and people try to steal my joy. I want to love without abandon. I want to love without holding back. I want to love without ceasing. I want to always give more than I think I can.

Then I realized that Your love is like that quote. You love us more than we could ever love you. You will always love more. You created us. You created a purpose in us. We are Yours. I want to try to show more love to You and to everyone You created. I want to show more appreciation and gratitude for that love. I want to say thank you. I am not perfect, but You love me anyways. You forgive me, time and time again. You never stop loving me or show me any less love, despite my sins. You show me compassion and understanding. You show me forgiveness and healing. You show me more love than I can even comprehend. I want to love more like You. I want to show more of You. I want to give more of Your love.

So, that is prayer today. I pray that I am more loving in as many ways as possible. I pray that I am more loving to those who don’t show love to me. I pray that I am more loving to my friends and family. I pray that one day I am more loving to my husband. I pray that where ever he is, he is doing well. I pray that I am more loving to you. I pray that I am showing more of your love to others. Thank you for showing me your love. Thank you for loving me even when I don’t deserve it. And as always I pray for my family and sorority sisters. I pray for my university. I pray for guidance for our government, church, and school leaders. I pray for protection for our troops. I pray for all of those that need you now and for those that haven’t met you yet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

